EAGLE BRAND® Banana Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I looked up this recipe for my mom because she lost her copy. Her sister used to make this very fresh and delicious Banana Cream Pie. It was always a favorite at our family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
My mom made this pie for me when I was a kid and I thought I'd never be able to replicate it. Little did I know she just used the recipe on the back of the can! This is my definition of the perfect banana cream pie; not too sweet, and very banana-y. The only thing my mom did different is to use more bananas (3) and crush them before combining it with the condensed milk mix. The first time I made this I had trouble getting the custard to set up. It takes patience and more work than you'd expect. First, don't turn the heat up or you will surely burn the milk. Second, stir the entire time or the bottom will thicken before the top does and you'll end up with a lumpy mess. Third, have patience and watch it closely. I'd estimate it takes at least 6 minutes of continuous stirring on medium heat before the thickening happens, but when it does happen it happens fast, almost like magic so be prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I've used this recipe for years, but since we're not crazy about banana cream pie, I use it to make coconut cream pie and chocolate cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I thought this pie was really good. Easy to make, too. In fact, this was my very first pie. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
excellent in a graham cracker crust...line the bottom and sides with banana slices. also, no need to "dip" each banana slice in lemon juice...just put all the slices in a large bowl and add a few tbs lemon juice then toss with your fingers until all are coated. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
The filling tasted good but it didn't set up at all!!!! I followed the directions and chilled it for a long time too! We put it in the freezer and it was pretty good then but not the same as pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Great recipe - thanks! It was my first time and it turned out great. The custard was a bit dense for me, so I added some extra cool-whip to it, which I thought made it absolutely perfect. I also REALLY appreciate the advice that the custard has to be absolutely cooled to room temperature before pouring on the bananas, it kept mine from turning black (along with the lemon juice). Easy, quick, and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I am a pretty big cream pie fan, but I felt this recipe was overly sweet. I am a non-baker as well, so making the filling was a little daunting for me. My husband and kids loved it though, so although it wasn't my favorite I am still rating it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have to say this turned out awful. the taste was good, but never set up thick. ive been cooking a long time and never had a custard not set up. i followed this one to a tee, even the part about drying off the bananas. i gave it 2 stars for taste alone, but wont be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This recipie is AMAZING! Soooo rich and creamy and full of flavor. I recommend this recipie to anyone who wants a delicious pie for themselves or to serve to others. FYI, I didn't have any cornstarch on hand when I made this so I replaced it with 5 Tablespoons flour and it worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States