E-Z Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I have made these with and without the cream of tartar, and much prefer them without. The cream of tartar, I thought, gave them a slight bitter aftertaste. With that correction, these are tender, fluffy, and ohhh so tasty. Not to mention EASY. Hope that little tip helps everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
933 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Excellent easy receipe. Note - Baking Soda already has some Cream of Tarter, or similar acidic leavening in it, and this may be the reason Cream of Tarter may be left out without too noticeable an effect. Also note all dry ingredients should be mixed THROUGHLY before adding liquids. Finally, note there is a TIME LIMIT of about 15 to 20 minutes from the time you have added liquid to Baking Powder until you start baking them for Baking Power to have its best leavening(rising)affects. So be sure to preheat oven so its ready for baking when bisquits mixed and ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
556 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I've been looking for a biscuit recipe that doesn't use hardened shortening/butter...as my daughter doesn't tolerate dairy or soy and we have to use oil for everything. Thanks for the awesome recipe! It's so forgiving, as I made many changes. I used half whole wheat flour and half ap flour; accidentally doubled the sugar; left out the cream of tartar; used 1 teaspoon salt (since I was not using butter); used olive oil instead of butter; used rice milk instead of milk. They turned out tender and delicious. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I was looking for a quick biscuit recipe when I decided to try this one. It was fantastic! I did not change the ingredients at all. The only change I made was to not melt the butter, but to freeze the stick of butter and grate it (using a box grater) into the flour mixture. Stir this around and then add the milk. This process yields very flaky biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
These biscuits are quick, good, and easy. I haven't used the cream of tartar just because I don't buy it on a regular basis but these work just fine without. I have added brown sugar and cinnamon, and will try them with crushed garlic and herbs, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These biscuits are perfect! I omitted the cream of tartar. I mixed the butter and milk together and added them both into the flour mix. I added the milk/butter mix a bit at a time and found that I got a good consistancy when there was still about 1/3 of a cup left, so I did not use the rest. May only use 3/4 of a cup of milk the next time. I made larger biscuits (got 7 out of the recipe...LOL), so they took about 20 minutes to cook instead of the regular time. These were perfect and went great with stew! But they also would taste great on their own with some butter! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAYTEKMULTISYNC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
Light, tender, flaky...and so QUICK to make!! These are YUMMY biscuits, and the easy preparation is great for busy mornings when I'm trying to get my family out the door!! Put an egg or slice of sausage in there, and you have a cheap, delicious biscuit that rivals any restaurant!! I made mine twice as big as the recipe calls for, and they turned out great. They do fall apart a little, so you have to handle them carefully. But, you get to skip all the kneading, cutting, and MESS!! Thanks, Angela, for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Easy, easy easy, did I mention these are easy? Delicious, I love drop biscuits because they are no trouble. My batch only made 10 biscuits I think the recipe said the yield was 12. Served with homemade sausage gravy and eggs. Way better than the yellow box drop biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I was very pleasantly surprised by this recipe! They were so simple, I didn't think they'd be all that great, but they were! Wonderful texture, very tender. Took less than 5 minutes to whip up. Used skim milk and half whole wheat pastry flour. I've been looking for an easy recipe without shortening, and I've found a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
These have been a favorite in our house since my daughter found this recipe here. The best!!! We are biscuit lovers too... These never disappoint...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States