E-Z Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
Impression: These were very good. The dough was pretty wet, but the biscuits still turned out very well. They were also very buttery. (I might tone down the butter just a bit next time - see recommendations.) Changes: I reduced the amount of Cream of Tartar to 1/4 tsp. I used skim milk and mixed the butter and milk together before I added it to the dry ingredients. I had to cook them a little longer (about 15 mins). I didn't use quite as much sugar as the recipe calls for. I reduced it by a very small amount (maybe by 1/2 tsp.). Servings: This made 15 large biscuits for me. Uses: I added blueberries and sprinkled some sugar and topped with creme fraische for dessert one night. The next morning, I used for breakfast sandwiches. The following evening, we served them with dinner. We are only 2 people, so 15 biscuits goes a long way with us! Great recipe. Next time, I might see if I can make 1/2 of it. Recommendations: The only things that could have made these biscuits a little better was that they were just a little pale. Not sure how I might brown them up. Maybe I might brush the tops with butter next time. I think I might reduce the butter by 2 Tb. next time, or move them to the top rack. (I used the middle to prevent burning.) Final word: If I'd used all of the Cream of Tartar, they might have turned out even more tender, but as it is, they're very, very good. I'll be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MV Koper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
I made with self rising flour... all i had. After 8 minutes brushed the tops with melted butter. Rebrushed when they were done. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I can't believe I made these. I can't make biscuits. They were wonderful, crispy on outside, soft in middle. Going to make more. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Made these for strawberry shortcake. They spread out a ton, were very dense, and looked nothing like the picture. I'm no novice to baking, so I don't know what went wrong. We liked the taste (I added a touch of vanilla), so they worked for shortcakes, but I'll probably try softening rather than melting the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I used this as a base recipe tonight. I omitted the Cream of Tartar and I added 2 tsp Garlic Powder, 3 tsp Onion Flakes, and 1 Cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese. I ended up using all the Milk and Melted Butter in the recipe and they came out so awesomely soft and fluffy. I did do Tablespoon Drops of them and came out with just over 2 Dozen Biscuits and baked them for 8 minutes. They came out really great and the whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beachwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I love this recipe. I have made it many times for biscuits. I usually skip the cream of tartar. This time I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup, added vanilla, a few drops of almond extract, and diced 2 fresh peaches. they were wonderful. This is a perfect base recipe to alter a little to fit the needs of the day. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Easy to make and adjusts to specific portion beautifully. The PERFECT biscuit for sausage gravy. I have even used 1/2 melted butter and 1/2 frozen stick butter grated. This makes a great pockets of heaven. If you add sheaded cheese - freeze it first, it will hold up better & do NOT use Fine Shredded, it just disapears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
My mom was a country cook, fried chicken and biscuits every Sunday dinner, biscuits almost every day. This is the biscuit recipe she used at least 3-4 times a week. She rarely made rolled out biscuits, she just didn't have the time. I make these biscuits myself a couple of times a month except I use self rising flour, they don't get quite as fluffy but they are still good. This is a great basic recipe, it's very versatile. I've added extra sugar and a little vanilla to make sweet biscuits for strawberry short cake, added cinnamon and raisins or other dried fruit for an easy sweet treat. My son loves them best with chopped jalapenos, cheddar cheese and a little garlic and onion powder that I make when we have chili or other Tex-Mex. I usually have to make a double batch any time I make them! I really recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaSaintO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Very simple, yet delicious! I didn't put the cream of tartar in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Thorne
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
These are GREAT! I've made biscuits from scratch and they never seem to come out right, but these are awesome. I did leave out the cream of tartar as recommended by the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States