E-Z Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Feeling a little home sick in the North Pole of Germany, I found this recipe and gave it a shot. GREAT recipe - these are all things I have on hand almost all the time, so that was a huge plus right there! That being said - I couldn't find my Cream of Tartar so left it out since it called for Baking Powder. The biscuits did come out a little flatter than I thought they would but - since I didn't follow it to a "T" I can't fault the recipe in any way. I think next time I'll add just a little more salt - but that's just me. The texture of this biscuit is great and holds up well with everything I threw at it... eggs - scrambled & fried, marmalades, butter & honey... I'm a happy girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I tried this recipe today because I needed something fast and easy to go with some homemade peach-pineapple preserves. I give this recipe 5 stars. I left out the Cream of Tartar and added an extra pinch of salt. I made 9 large biscuits instead of 12. They were light and fluffy with a little bit of delicious crispness on top. The key is definitely to use a light hand and incorporate ingredients but do not overmix. They do not hold together like a rolled and cut-out biscuit so have a fork handy, but it takes nothing away from the flavor. This will be a quick standby biscuit recipe for me. I love these easy drop biscuits. I might try the recipe with buttermilk just to compare. It would also be delicious to add dill weed and cheddar for a savory bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Love them! Moist and light!! I used butter instead of shortening and needed in oregano. i also spread garlic butter on top before I baked them and sprinkled parmesean cheese on afterwards! I didnt haven any garlic bread on hand for my pasta so I used these guys as a replacement! They were actually a hit with my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I left out from of tartar and Cooked biscuits within 15 minutes of adding liquids to dry ingredients as suggested in other comment. My oven doesn't handle 450º very well, So I baked mine at 400º for 12 minutes. I also glazed top of each biscuit with butter before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maroa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I have made this recipe about 4 times now, each time they turn out perfect, light and fluffy. very crumbly but i like them that way. I follow the recipe to a T except i omit the cream of tartar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Super easy and very good. Didn't use cream of tarter because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This is a great simple recipe. After adding ingredients I realized I was completey out of butter. WHAT!!! I'm a butter fanatic. My epitaph will read "death by butter". However, I used Nutiva Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil instead of butter as I had that on hand. I'm telling you, these biscuits were off the radar good. I think I will begin substituting in this recipe from now on. My picky kids loved them! They are not chef quality, but really really good and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I agree with comments about the wonderful texture of these biscuits. I added 1/2 c. grated sharp cheddar and 1 tablespoon of fresh chopped chives...omitted the sugar. Heaping tablespoons yielded 16 small biscuits - perfect for sharing with a crowd at a meeting - providing a savory option. 10 minutes gave them nice brown peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Bland doesn't even begin to describe this recipe, there's just no flavor and I even increased the salt a bit. I really don't know how most people got this recipe to work. I cut the milk down to 3/4 a cup and it was STILL too wet. I had to bake them for 20 minutes. They did, however, have plenty of crispy crunch. Way too much butter n milk called for. I had to add more flour and still thought I'd be sending my son for canned (yuck) biscuits. Since I made them for biscuits and gravy, they'll do, but I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States