E-Z Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I've been making this for 15 yrs i got the recipe from a cookbook called mayberry r f d but instead of heavy cream i use a cup of milk and 4 tbs of mayo 2 cups of self-rising flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I've been aware of these easy biscuits for many, many years, but never bothered to try them until today, when I had an opened carton of heavy cream I wanted to put to good use. I brushed them with melted butter before baking them at a higher temperature than the recipe instructed, 425 degrees. When I pulled them from the oven I gave them a sprinkle of California Garlic Salt. I had low expectations, but I was more than surprised, in a positive way, with the outcome. These were some of the softest, fluffiest, most tender biscuits I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Halved recipe. Made 1 c of self-rising flour by adding 1.5 t baking powder and .25 t salt to all-purpose flour. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
With only two ingredients I was somewhat concerned about how these were going to taste. These were excellent. The dough was a stiff dough that I had to actually use my hands to mix, but most people use their hands to mix stiff doughs like breads and biscuits. Try these biscuits, you'll like them, and you can dress them up and make them sweet or savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I make homemade biscuits several times a month using self-rising flour. However, you need to add shorting or oil. I put 2/3 cup canola oil or coconut oil along with 2 cups of SR flour. You mix it with the flour until the mixture looks crumbly like corn meal. Make a hole in the middle of the mixture and add the heavy cream all at once. Stir until the dough is formed. Procede as this recipe instructs. I never buy can biscuits. If you don't have self rising flour you can add 1 teaspoon salt and 1 tablespoon of baking powder to all purpose flour and follow with the oil and other ingredients. Additionally to make scones add 1/2 cup sugar and raisins. I hope this is helpful to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gardendale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are delicious! I didn't expect so much from two ingredients (well. OK, 4. I had to make my self rising flour with 2c flour, 1T baking powder and 1/2 t salt). I had visited a farmer friend and gotten milk from his cows. There was lots of cream on the milk which I skimmed off. So I was looking for a recipe to use it up. I made drop biscuits. The batter is somewhat 'sticky'. The biscuits are very tender yet crispy outside. I am planning to make more and freeze the batter in 'drops'. YUM! (also made butter to put on them. Heaven!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
These were very moist and very rich biscuits. They needed a bit of salt though for flavor. They almost tasted buttery, I guess because of the cream. They didn't rise much though and were a bit flat, but they were good for just eating plain. They were very delicate and didn't hold up to splitting and would not be suitable for a biscuit sandwich. Easy recipe though and only 2 ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This is a great, easy to use recipe. I usually add a tablespoon or two of chopped fresh parsley or other fresh herbs to use with creamed chicken over biscuits. This is the best way to make biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
These were so easy and yummy! I used a scoop to make drop biscuits and they even split nicely. Topped them with chocolate gravy for an over the top treat. Would be great for strawberry shortcake with a little sugar and almond extract added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexander, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
My husband loved these and they were sooo quick to make! I used light cream instead of heavy cream and I made my own self- rising flour using was half whole wheat. Great little drop biscuits. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States