E-A-G-L-E-S Swirl Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This is like a cross between a calzone and a Philly cheese steak sandwich. As far as my family is concerned, it's the best of both worlds. I used steak-ums with this, added more seasonings and used provolone cheese. You Eagles fans are the most loyal I've ever seen in the country and I'm loyal in that I'll certainly be doing this recipe again. Thanks Airborne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Nichole
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Oh, yum. This recipe took 2 of my favorite foods (calzones and cheesesteaks) and combined them into a practically sinful meal. What a great idea. Now, I typically like my cheesesteaks "Whiz Wit", so that's how I made this sandwich. I used a whole onion and good ol' Cheez Whiz. I probably could have went a little heavier on the Whiz, but it was fine. I also used a can of mushrooms instead of fresh. 25 mins cooking time would have burnt my tasty sammy, because when I checked in at 21 mins it was just at the point of dark where if I would have let it go a bit more it wouldn't have been a good thing. Next time I think I'll take it out around 19 or 20 mins, but that may just depend on the brand/type of dough - this time I used store brand. Either way, keep an eye on that. I will most definitely make this again. Everyone in this house dove into it. I should have made 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is pretty good. I added some horse radish to give it more flavor.Makes a good size sandwich and it's also a kid pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I thought this was great..first time I followed recipe exactly and I loved it. Second time, I decided to put an italian spin on it, I used ham, pepperoni, mozz cheese, bell pepper and a little pizza sauce. It was delicious and so good left over for lunches...we'll be doing a lot more experimenting with this recipe..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopa, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
My variation: I brushed homemade pizza dough with a little bbq sauce before adding the toppings. and used fresh grated cheddar and mozzarella cheeses; added chopped green peppers too. This is definitely one for the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFSHIRLEY

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Super easy, good, and inexpensive to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Awesome! The dough is soft. Make sure to put a lot of filling in, especially onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
My husband and children really liked this sandwich and my 11 year old could make it by herself. Even my picky eaters ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was not good. It had no flavor and needed some kind of sauce or dressing inside. Will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCRAPJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I thought it was kinda bland. Good though, just needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happymonkeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yazoo City, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Webb, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States