Dutch Letter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
OMG! THIS WAS SO GOOD! I made it because I'm doing a state fair thing for my school and I got Iowa:D So I made this recipe and I had to make it into 300 samples!:d anyway when I was making it I worried it wouldn't be sweet enough sense there was no sugar in the dough. But it never failed me! I made it just like the recipe called for it and it was amazing! I and my bro don't really like almond but we loved this! :D Thanks Claudia, for the great recipe! And also I'm only 15 so its easy enough for me to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I just wanted to agree with Sue the Dec. 16, 2007 review that the bakery in Pella,Iowa have the best Dutch Letters ever. I use to have the address and would order them for the holidays so I'm glad to have found this recipe. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
The flavor of the filling is just like the ones from the bakery in Pella, Ia. I used Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry instead of making dough. It was a lot easier than the first time I tried to make these. I did have alot filling left over and there is not enough filling in the actual cookie when I cut the dough to 1 1/2 inches like recipe says. Next time I will be cutting dough 2 to 2 1/2 inches so that there is room for more filling. Otherwise, these are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Payson, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I grew up in a small, Dutch town and fondly remember the Dutch letters we bought at the local bakery. These are exactly what I remember!!! The only change I made was to use Almond Cake & Pastry Filling (Solo brand) in place of the almond paste, egg and sugar. I found the filling to be much more frugal than almond paste and it was ready to use as the filling. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These are soooo good. I got the idea to search for the recipe after visiting Pella, Iowa for tulip festival. They aren't exactly the same but close enough. I will be making these again for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These are exactly like the ones I get when I got to the Amish bakery in Jamesport MO. I Have been searching for a recipe to duplicate these, and this is it!!! FANTASTIC!!! And actually not a difficult as I thought they would be. Only took about 15 minutes to roll out and get in the oven! I will be making these for MANY years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Dutch letters are one of the best treats in the world! I altered this recipe, using puff pastry. It made the process much easier. I didn't try to shape the strips into letters (just the lower case "l"!) While the filling did tend to ooze out some, it didn't detract from the taste. Even using the puff pastry, they are kind of time consuming but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I make these all the time for my mom. A friend of hers goes to Pella once a year (we live in Iowa) to the tulip festival and brings a bag home for her. When I found the recipe I immediately went to the store for almond paste and made them. I personally dont like them (I dont like the almond filling) but this deserves 5 stars just for the look I got when she took a bite and realized what they were! I am also in the process of making some for her for Mother's Day! THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS RECIPE! My mom's an expert baker and its nice to be able to suprise her :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Plaine, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blairstown, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Dutch Letter Cookies??? My husband request these as he spent time out in Pella, Iowa freqently before we were married and discovered them in the Jaarsma Bakery on the square. I, however, had never heard of them so I found this recipe. He LOVED this recipe and said it was almost identical to the cookies he found in Pella. I found them easy to make; however, the only suggestion I would make is to make sure the almond paste/sugar/egg mixture is mixed very well and all the lumps are gone. Otherwise, you have trouble piping the mixture out onto the dough - very annoying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
growing up, a friend of my family made these for us at christmastime, and for the past couple years i had been looking to make my own. saw the great reviews and thought i'd try this one. i was excited to see the reference to a pella, iowa bakery, since i also grew up in iowa. this is a great recipe, pretty close to the ones i remember. i did have some extra almond mix leftover (only used a 7oz pkg to begin with). also only used about 1/2 the water the recipe calls for. they can be made into any size you desire. when folding the pastry over the filling, i didn't follow the instructions--i folded them over using the long end, instead of folding in half starting at the short end. make sure to pinch the edges closed very carefully so you don't lose any filling! the pastry was nice and flaky, but i will probably add some sugar next time around. will definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States