Dutch Letter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
These are delicious little cookies that kids can have fun making if there is a patient parent to help out. The almond paste is rich, so use sparingly. (This will also keep the filling from seeping out of the cookie when baking.) Plan on taking some time for these...but they are worth it and make for a lovely tradition. Practice and patience are the key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
These are definately worth the work! We were pleasantly surprised and so were our friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
These tasted good, but it was my first attempt and I sort of botched it up. Next time I will use more of the almond paste filling (yum!) and roll the dough out flatter. Also, if you make the cookies the size indicated in the recipe, it's too hard to shape into letters. Will make them skinnier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
These were very good. When i was baking them i thought i had messed them up because they never really turned brown, but i took them out at the specified time they tasted perfect. I had left over filling so next time i will double the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I had these pastries as a child. My Dutch grandmother made them. As I read her recipe after she passed, she didn't use measurements! Just "some butter, some sugar". I was lost! I was so pleased to find this recipe & it is just as wonderful as I remembered from my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
This is a great recipe, I got a tip from a baker in my area, who refuses to give out thier recipe, to section the dough in balls and dip each ball lightly in a small bowl of water then pat it down, and definitely use lots of filling, Also I only baked about 12 minutes unitl edges turned golden. It did work and I didn't have to lightly flour or use a rolling pin, both of which I'm not fond of. Thanks for sharing this recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I just made these. I loved them. followed the receipe word for word. I did make smaller ones easier to handle... Next time I will add about a 1/3 cup of chopped toasted almonds to my filling.... Wonderful and a KEEPER! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACITY44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
These were wonderful and super easy to make with a simple substitution! I did not make the dough for these, I used pre-made puff pastry sheets instead and everyone raved over them and have requested them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These are great, but becareful with the filling or the pastry with blow out. If you think these are good, If you ever get to Pella Iowa, thry the ones from the bakery there. The shape of a big "S" and they are Awesome! I don't live there anymore, so I have to make my own. But when ever I go back to visit a box comes home with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
growing up, a friend of my family made these for us at christmastime, and for the past couple years i had been looking to make my own. saw the great reviews and thought i'd try this one. i was excited to see the reference to a pella, iowa bakery, since i also grew up in iowa. this is a great recipe, pretty close to the ones i remember. i did have some extra almond mix leftover (only used a 7oz pkg to begin with). also only used about 1/2 the water the recipe calls for. they can be made into any size you desire. when folding the pastry over the filling, i didn't follow the instructions--i folded them over using the long end, instead of folding in half starting at the short end. make sure to pinch the edges closed very carefully so you don't lose any filling! the pastry was nice and flaky, but i will probably add some sugar next time around. will definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States