Dutch Croquetten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
These are very good, and close to what you can find in Holland (with the exception of cheese). I must agree with other reviewers that stewed/slow-cooked shredded meat is better, more flavorful, and definitely more traditional. The cooking spice, gehaktkruiden, does help with a more authentic flavor, but if you don't have that, you can use curry powder (which is listed here as optional, but definitely worth it), being careful not to add too much. It should be a "behind the scenes" type flavor. I'm not sure why cheese is added in a traditional Dutch Kroketten, but to each his own. These also freeze well, so you can make more for later. :) Thanks, Celly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey's Mom

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
5 stars because I love this stuff! But did modify: I did ground beef and used 2 beefy soup bones to make the stock. I will double the beef over the ground as well as triple the roux to get it closer in texture to the real thing. Chilled overnight. For the coating I used equal parts zesty bread crumbs and panko. I will freeze and then bag into portions for the freezer for throughout the year as they are time consuming to make... even when made with love :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I don't know how long I was to wait for the meat to cool down, but it definitely didn't come out the way it was supposed to. I think you have two choices here. Either prep it the day before and set the cooked meat mixture into the refrigerator overnight or don't pre-cook the veal before shaping it. Although it tasted very good, it was very difficult to make this recipe as outlined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
i would not use veal! i use chicken and cook it until it's 'shreddable'..also, i use nutmeg for that 'dutch' taste...with the parsley etc...no paprika for me! most important: the rue needs to be pretty thick so you can roll the bitterballen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
If you want to make a great kroket here's how you do it. Take a roast (beef in my mind is best) cook it in the crockpot for the day (this is why people don't make krokets often its an all day affair) shred the beef, make a roux, throw in some ketjap manis, mustard (i prefer spicy), roll those bad boys into balls (biterballen) or oblong (kroket). To bread them this is a three step process flour, egg, then bread crumbs. Deep fry. A sign of a good kroket is the breading is separated from the filling after its cooked. There is no true recipe for krokets taste your way through. If you don't like the way it tastes change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is not at all like the real dutch Kroketten. First off you need to use roast beef, not ground beef or veal. Cook your roast in a slow cooker for 6 hours untill it easily shreds. you want to cook the roast in beef bullion cubes and water (about 5-10 depending on size of roast ) once your beef is ready and cool. Add about 1-2 tbs of fresh chopped parsley, and 1-2 tbs of thyme, puree half a yellow onion and add to meat mix and a tsp of black pepper. Now to get the real kick that the dutch love you need a spice called " gehaktkruiden" which can be purchased at a dutch foods specialty store. If you cant get this add the paprika, but do try to find this dutch spice as it really does give it the flavor you need. and add to your taste. Set your beef aside and now make your "bechamel" sauce, in a sauce pan melt 1/3 c of butter, add 1/3 c of flour and mix in 1 c of warm milk ( preferably homo or 2%) add a pinch of salt to taste. this will make a paste that you add to the meat. mix in real well and store in fridge over night. shape into cylinders, roll in flour and dip in beaten egg then roll in the bead crumb coating, repeat . deep fry and serve with mustard. If you are not serving right away put in freezer and fry them when you need them. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are very close to what my dutch family ate at Christmas Eve, except we used chicken (instead of veal) and mushrooms minus the chili powder and cheese. When I make these I love using one of those rotisserie chickens from the store and fresh thick sliced button mushrooms sauteed in butter and onions... also if you have some "Maggi" on hand I would use that instead Worcestershire. Once you're finished frying serve w/ toast and ground mustard. YUM! Also these are very easy to freeze and fry later... nice for a quick lunch/ dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyhjansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly changing veal (don't eat it) to ground chicken and I had nothing but a big sticky mess when I tried to make the rolls to dust with flour and breadcrumbs!! I wanted so much to make them for my dutch daughter in law but glad she was not here to see them turn out a disaster! Finally just made them in some kinda patty so we could eat them instead of wasting the meat. Not too good and probably won't try again at least until I find out what went wrong! sigh. HELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I'm sorry, but these just weren't good for us at all. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. It's super easy, and the veal mixture can be made early and kept in the fridge until you're ready to deep fry. I highly suggest this with some spicy mustard dipping sauce, it complements the sweetness of the Croquetten. I did end up using a couple more tablespoons of flour to make it stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States