Dutch Cream Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I had good and not so good Waffles , but this recipe is one of the best .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
These waffles are amazing! I usually hate when people review things and make a lot of changes, but since I kept the base recipe, I will tell you what I did. The first time, I followed the recipe, but did NOT separate the eggs. They turned out to be great. This time I added a half teaspoon of vanilla, and a little maple syrup- probably 2 tablespoons at most (I don't measure well!). Oh my goodness were they even tastier! Because I was feeling creative, I made some different types-one with candied walnuts, and one with Maple flavored Bacon in it. OH MY! So yummy! You didn't really even need syrup. However, I do think that if I separated the eggs they would be fluffier- but even without it they are fluffy enough for me and my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very good recipe. I added 4 tablespoons of sugar and 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract. The ONLY issue that I had was that this recipe yielded 2 waffles from my Belgian Waffle Baker. I would have to double and/or triple this recipe for larger gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIG203

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made these with the best quality local free range eggs and organic whipping cream. The egg yolk flour mixture was so thick that I didn't think the whites would incorporate, but with a lot of gentle stirring and patience, they eventually did. It wasn't quite as fluffy and crispy as I expected, but texture was still nice and had a lovely old fashioned flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Great alternative to plain waffles. The egg whites were time consuming. I recommend adding 1 tsp of vanilla and 2 tb of sugar as others mentioned. Would only make these waffle going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These waffles raised the lid up a bit on the waffle iron. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelia Suzan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: New London, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
These waffles were light and airy and delicious. I don't even bother with waffle recipes that don't require beating the egg whites - and I was a bit hesitant to try this recipe b/c it seemed so simple. But I really enjoyed it. I used wheat pastry flour (grind my own) and added some vanilla, cinnamon, and some finely chopped apple. Perfect. Oh - I normally don't grease my waffle iron - the oil in the recipe usually does it for me - but had to on this one. And, I didn't realize how much these would raise - I overflowed my waffle iron the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
best tasting waffle recipe I have found so far...! they are fluffy, and with enough flavor for savory or sweet toppings. I added a little cinnamon and vanilla extract. so easy to make, especially if you have a kitchenaid type mixer to fluff up the egg whites into a nice meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by femmeartis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wow! These are the most amazing waffles! They do take some time and the recipe only makes about 3, but what a treat. I used a little real maple syrup and then sliced some bananas and added a little canned whipped cream on top. Delicious! I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLOCKSMITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I did not modify it at all and it turned out great! It made three full-size waffles. I love the convenient proportions of this recipe - simple to remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States