Dutch Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
These were pretty good. I did up the onions to about a half of a sweet onion which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
OM Goodness!! YUMMY - I just bought 25lbs of beets, was sick of canning ( never did it before ) and saw this ..... sooo good, I just threw it all together, I did use some leftover brine from my canning instead of measuring things & it came out great! - everyone including veggie haters ate em Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melonie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very solid recipe. While I loved it, my hubby, daughter and brother didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesleym

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I am not usually a beet eater...but I accidently bought a jar of regular sliced beets, (for my hubby, who is), instead of pickled. Hating to waste them I tried this recipe...I had no problem eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAVEWOMAN884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used cooked fresh beets and a whole onion. I changed the ap flour to whole wheat flour, and changed the sugar to agave syrup. The only thing I can compare this to is Harvard Beets, which I love! Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
loved it! i've never been a beat person, but one of my roommates had gotten a couple of cans of sliced beats & i was looking for something to do with them. this was quick & easy, & we had everything we needed for it (or so i thought...). turned out we didn't have apple cider vinegar, just white, but it worked fine. i also added cinnamon, which i thought was great. i definitely plan on making this again (in fact - i want more right now!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
My favorite way to eat beets is pickled. Probably because it tastes more like the tangy marinade than the beets :) That said, this recipe, using the juice from the can of beets with just a little vinegar and sugar isn't as appealing to me. I think the sugar and the vinegar need to be increased and the beet juice reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I've been on a "beet kick" lately (I've always liked beets but they're definitely a "hard sell" with my family) and this recipe -- followed to a T, but doubled -- worked well in my household. No RAVES but no complaints either. Note: Not in ANY way intended to disparage the recipe, but we have a dog who usually shies away from any (left over) vegetables I add to her "kibble" and within 2 hours of setting down her daily ration, her bowl was empty (an "event" which usually takes until the following morning). In my world, if DH doesn't complain and if my (adult) children don't comment but "gobble" it up anyway (which they did in this instance), I consider the recipe a 5! I, personally, LOVED my beets prepared this way (and will make them again and again prepared this way). And our dog seems to have confirmed my good judgment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Was very quick and easy and my hubby loved them, always a good sign. I may add something more next time I make them - maybe some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUNCO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I liked this recipe. I have no real complaints about it, but it wasn't life-changing. I love love love beets, and I really liked the thickened sauce... it didn't leak into my potatoes and whatnot. But if I were to make it again, I would add maybe another tablespoon of the vinegar. I could smell the vinegar, but only barely taste it. My husband also thought it needed more vinegar. (But then, we really like vinegar with beets. If you're not crazy about vinegar, then it's perfect.) Nonetheless, it was good, and I think worth-while. In the future, I will definitely use the cider vinegar and flour (and butter) to make a thickened sauce, and perhaps add more onion and vinegar. But all told, a good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States