Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This is identical to my great aunt's recipe, except she sprinkled the nutmeg on top. easily adjustable for how many people you have. It is also easier to put in a blender than to whisk by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Quick and easy, and the kids loved 'em. I served these with sauteed cinnamon apples and turkey link sausages; made for a great brunch on a snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I've never had this before, and I LOVED it! It gets puffy and slightly crispy around the outside while staying soft and custardy in the middle. I skipped the powdered sugar and topped mine with sliced apple, cinnamon, and nutmeg. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Yum, this recipe is so fun! This may sound gross, but if you're looking to make a non-sweet snack, you can omit the nutmeg and top this with cheese/salami/mushrooms/etc to make sort of an eggy pizza. Sounds weird, but is actually very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Take out the nutmeg and this recipe is IDENTICAL to the "Puffy Oven Pancake" recipe in the Betty Crocker cookbook - every last measurement is the same. That aside, I love these! My favorite way to make this is to peel and slice an apple, and spread the slices out on the bottom of the pan (I use a 9" pyrex pie pan, melt the butter in it in the oven). Sprinkle the apple slices with a little cinnamon and nutmeg, then pour in the batter. After it's done baking, flip it out on a plate and serve. YUM! Oh, sidenote - bake it more like 1/2 hour at 400 and it won't be so custard-y, more like a cross between eggs and a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe! VERY easy and delicious. Has quickly become a family favorite and a Sunday morning staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
My family loves this recipe. It puffs up to amazing heights. I omit the nutmeg, and I add cinnamon. I usually double the recipe, and use two 9 in round cake pans, and it works just fine. Today I used muffin tins to make mini dutch babies. The trick for the recipe to rise well is to have the oven and the pan piping hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I made this after trying them at the Original Pancake House in Dallas TX. I thought they were great. I added vanilla and they MUST be served very hot with butter melted inside and fresh lemon wedges squeezed over them and then sprinkle with powdered sugar. They are not ment to be the flavor, they are similar to crepes in flavor and make a good holder!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I make it all the time on weekends and I just love the light texture. However, when I went home for Christmas (in the US) and made it for my parents, it was a completely different thing. I guess the flour in the US has more gluten in it than flour in Japan. Anyway, I like the Japanese version better, because the US version didn't rise and tasted pretty much like a giant pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Yummy! Great with just powdered sugar in the middle or you can add fruit like sauteeed apples or try bacon or sausage. Very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States