Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I made this two days in a row; first day flat, second day magic! Here were my changes: Both days: 1 tsp vanilla instead of nutmeg Second day: I warmed the eggs in a glasso of hot water before using, microwaved the milk for about 20 seconds. Also I made sure the pan was real hot when I put it in(I used a 9inch round cake pan). Also, I added about 5 minutes cooking time at the end, temp turned down to 350. Other than these temperature adjustments, all ingredients were the same, and the second day it turned out so much fluffier. Coming out of the pan- such a difference. Hopefully this helps others like me who don't get the rise they are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
724 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gooddealmeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This recipe is kind of complicated and can easily be simplified... Skip the skillet business and use a 9x13 baking dish. Heat your oven to 425 F degrees. Chop 1/3 cup butter up into your baking dish and let melt in your preheated oven. Once all of the butter has melted, take baking dish out and pour in batter, DO NOT STIR OR MIX just let it be. Bake for 20-25 minutes and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
615 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StukeCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Take out the nutmeg and this recipe is IDENTICAL to the "Puffy Oven Pancake" recipe in the Betty Crocker cookbook - every last measurement is the same. That aside, I love these! My favorite way to make this is to peel and slice an apple, and spread the slices out on the bottom of the pan (I use a 9" pyrex pie pan, melt the butter in it in the oven). Sprinkle the apple slices with a little cinnamon and nutmeg, then pour in the batter. After it's done baking, flip it out on a plate and serve. YUM! Oh, sidenote - bake it more like 1/2 hour at 400 and it won't be so custard-y, more like a cross between eggs and a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is critical! If anyone is having trouble getting this to raise like the reviews say it will - make sure you are not using the convection option on your oven! I can't tell you how many times I tried this recipe -and others - only to have it turn out like a regular pancake. Then I saw this hint on another website, tried it again and it worked perfectly! So be aware - NOT FOR CONVECTION !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I think what helps to make this recipe "light and fluffy" is to make sure your eggs are at room temperature. I have tried various recipes and the ones that call for room temp eggs turn out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinmama
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Wow, this recipe was SO good! Very impressive the way it looks when its done, too! I warmed the milk for 20 sec. in the microwave, and the eggs in a glass of hot tap water for about 2-3 minutes. I added about 1/4 tsp. vanilla, and still used a dash of nutmeg. I baked this in a non-stick oven safe pan (calphalon) and it turned out beautifully! My daughter liked hers with maple syrup, I liked mine with just butter and powdered sugar. For my husband, I sauteed some apple slices in a pan with butter, cinnamon, and a bit of brown sugar; then added apple juice and a bit of cornstarch and simmered until thick (a suggestion from another review). This was a great topping too!! I will definitely make these many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Yum, this recipe is so fun! This may sound gross, but if you're looking to make a non-sweet snack, you can omit the nutmeg and top this with cheese/salami/mushrooms/etc to make sort of an eggy pizza. Sounds weird, but is actually very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I made this tonite! It was so great. I added a spoonful of sugar and a splash of vanilla to the mix before baking. It rose beautifully and took exactly the amount of time the recipe states. I topped it with plenty of powdered sugar and lemon juice. Perfect. I baked this in a glass Pyrex pie plate. Heated it in the oven in advance and melted the butter, etc. Everything turned out absolutely perfectly. I will totally make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This is identical to my great aunt's recipe, except she sprinkled the nutmeg on top. easily adjustable for how many people you have. It is also easier to put in a blender than to whisk by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I tried to make this into a healthy recipe by substituting soy flour for the white flour, egg substitutes for the eggs, and soy milk for the regular milk. I had no idea what it was suppossed to look or taste like, as I have never even heard of them before. It turned out like a flat 1 in. pancake that tastes pretty gross...I was disappointed, so I decided to make the "real version." Well I stuck it in the oven and WAS very surprised to see the result. The sides rose beautifully- and it seemed magical. :) It was pretty good, not wonderful tasting. But the effect is incredible. And the household gobbled it up quite quickly. I like butter and powdered sugar myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States