Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I use three eggs total and a tablespoon of sugar for this recipe. No nutmeg. Bake in an 8 x 8 inch pan. 400 degrees for eight minutes and 325 degrees for three minutes. My kids used to call these "giant pancakes" when they were little! I call them delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I used an 8x8 pan, and the butter was WAY too much. Even though the pastry puffed up (I whisked the eggs a lot before I baked it), when it sank back down, some parts were super dense and moist on the bottom because of the butter. And I have to say, with the powdered sugar, it tastes like fair food, in particular, funnel cake (the ingredients are almost identical). I think the fact that the recipe uses so much butter gives it that fried food taste. I wouldn't really call this a breakfast food; it's more of a light dessert. Of course, I guess that's how most American breakfasts are these days. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
So good and so easy! Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
These were yummy! I subbed oat flour (oats in my food processor) for the wheat flour because my son is allergic to wheat. They didn't puff in the oven, but I think the end result was the same. Dusted with powdered sugar & drizzled with syrup. Really nice to be able to make something wheat free like this that the whole family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I used a deep dish baking pan and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Doubled the recipe, swapped the nutmeg for 1 tsp vanilla, and baked in a 12 inch cast iron skillet for about 20 minutes. Turned out beautiful and delicious just as I had hoped! Will be making again- the family including 2 picky kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasonb94
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've made this several times and it always is a hit. Changes: I used 3 eggs and 3/4 c flour and vanilla. I use my cast iron pan. The tip for rising that works for me is allowing the eggs and milk to be close to room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was a fun breakfast to make my family. They enjoyed it and asked for it again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Waaaay easy and delicious! Just made it this morning for a late breakfast. Used a 13x9 baking dish. Perfection! Served with powdered sugar and warm maple syrup for dipping. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I make these in muffin tins. I make half of them sweet and the other half savory. Super easy and everyone loves them! For sweet I add apples or jam in the centers after cooked. For savory I've used garlic, basil, cheeses, diced ham. Many different combos for savory. Breakfast or dinner always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States