Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Crystal Stepp
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
So dang good!! Added apples in a cinnamon syrup. Screams fall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Stepp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This was simple and beautiful. I added apples, and so I sautéed them in butter with a little raw cane sugar,and cinnamon, as well as a pinch of cardamon,salt and nutmeg. I made the batter as suggested and poured it over the apples and stuck it in the oven. It was gorgeous and delicious. I didn't have to heat the cast iron becuase the apples were cooked on the stove in it already. I see no need to have eggs at room temp, I've made lots of these dutch babies, and fresh eggs is what you should use if possible. That is what makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gladstone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It was okay, something to have once in a while. I added nutmeg and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timu
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Used a large cast iron skillet, doubled the recipe. Used vanilla instead of nutmeg. Tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Works well but if you heat the skillet on the stove it will provide a better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
To be perfectly honest, this is one of my favorite recipes to make. Definitely a change from the regular pancake sort of thing. We serve this with maple syrup and some bacon on the side. Marvelous! If you have kids, gather them around the oven door window for some fun as this Dutch baby changes from one interesting form to another. (In fact, any men in the house will enjoy the show just as much!) Thanks, Barbara, for sharing your great-grandmother's recipe with all of us. My family has thoroughly enjoyed it many, many times since we first came across your recipe. Excellent recipe to keep and to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I added cinnamon in addition to the nutmeg. Very good with fresh fruit on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Fox

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I made it exactly as written except I used a regular non-stick skillet instead of cast iron. Turned out 'delish!' according to the people who ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The first time I tried this recipe, I ended up with a pretty uneven "lift" puffing only one side of my skillet. It was still tasty, but having made it three times now I have finally mastered it. First, I use my handheld electric mixer and make sure my eggs are extra fluffy. I was nervous to over-beat the mixture but I went for it and once everything was added I made sure it was still getting fluffy. I used to use my hand whisk and didn't get the same results. I do pull out the hand whisk after I add the flour but I'm pretty sure I could get away with using the mixer on low even at that stage. I find the vanilla suggested by other reviewers to be kind of perfect in this (you can really taste it!) and a bit of sugar in the batter -- a teaspoon is fine -- really gets it nice and golden. Oh, and tons of powdered sugar to serve! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
great recipe, looks and tastes amazing, thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States