Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
The best thing about this recipe is the deliciousness and simplicity of it. I find that this is perfect for cold mornings and it comes out perfect every time! I think if it is slightly less browned around the rim of the "baby" that it reached its peak. I enjoy this with lemon and powdered sugar, and sometimes with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel22
Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Excellent! I doubled the recipe for a 12" cast iron pan and added a touch of pure vanilla extract as suggested by others, along with freshly grated nutmeg; served with real maple syrup, confectioners sugar, and jams. It looked ugly as sin but tasted wonderful. A warning though, it takes a LONG time to heat the cast iron pan in the oven to 475 so be sure to plan for that. We had this for Christmas morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I made this pancake for the first time today. Had all of my ingredients at room temperature which I think contributed to the success of this recipe. As someone else mentioned I added vanilla in lieu of the nutmeg and served it with scalloped apples. I did use the cast iron skillet and it came out perfectly, not to mention, delicious! this not a sweet pancake until you either dust it w/sugar or serve with some kind of fruit or syrup. This is definitely a repeat recipe. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
So far, room temperature eggs and vanilla instead of nutmeg have been the best alterations to make it fluffier and tastier. Also, The simplified version of simply preheating a 9x13 baking dish, then melting the butter directly in it, then simply adding the batter and baking has worked just fine (it's supposed to be a quick and easy dish) and saved a lot of time and dirty dishes. HOWEVER, a tasty addition I learned in class was sprinkling a bit of lemon/lime juice along with the powdered sugar. DELIICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
So Good! I never had a Dutch Baby and wanted to try one and picked this recipe. Very good and so easy to make. It's light and somewhat custardy and just absolutely delicious. Great Grandmother knew what she was doing and I'm happy you shared her recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Cmevans155
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Have made this many times. Warming eggs and milk is an absolute must for a light fluffy pancake. We add fresh lemon juice, strawberries, and powdered sugar. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
added nutmeg and vanilla warmed 9x13 inch pan in oven melted butter in pan poured in batter, did not mix cooked ~ 12-15 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal Stepp
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
So dang good!! Added apples in a cinnamon syrup. Screams fall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Stepp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This was simple and beautiful. I added apples, and so I sautéed them in butter with a little raw cane sugar,and cinnamon, as well as a pinch of cardamon,salt and nutmeg. I made the batter as suggested and poured it over the apples and stuck it in the oven. It was gorgeous and delicious. I didn't have to heat the cast iron becuase the apples were cooked on the stove in it already. I see no need to have eggs at room temp, I've made lots of these dutch babies, and fresh eggs is what you should use if possible. That is what makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gladstone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States