Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Wonderful with greek yogurt , strawberries and powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
YUM! I grew up with Walker Bros. Original Pancake House in IL, and this is just like theirs. I bake a single in a cast iron, and today I doubled and put it in a 9x13 and it was perfect. As others said, use warm eggs, milk, and a HOT pan. I use a fraction of the butter (just enough to wet the pan); I dislike puddles of butter at the bottom. Powdered sugar + generous lemon juice, and it's heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Fantastic!! I'm not a baker so I was a little hesitant in even trying but it worked great!! Yes, take the advice of others and make sure your eggs and milk are room temp, that makes a huge difference. It's easy and nummy!! Don't go another weekend without giving these dutch babies a fair shake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I see these on menus every so often and never get them b/c they seemed so much more marked up than even regular pancakes. Since I was craving something to go with my maple syrup and the ingredient list for dutch babies was shorter than for pancakes, I gave it a go. First though, I read a bunch of the reviews, and it appears that the moon and stars have to line up correctly for these to turn out right. So I figure I'd just give it a go...I halved the recipe, heated up the milk for 20 secs and threw the egg in there to warm up while I prepped the rest. No measuring, no expectations....figured the dogs would get a late night snack if nothing else. I followed the directions with the oven temp, but I used muffin tins, and it worked out...perfectly. If it's of any interest, it's freezing outside and I assume humid, b/c it's always humid in these parts. Texture is as many described...sort of custardy...like the inside of a french toast? Flavor is very neutral. I'm glad that I was able to make these, so now I won't queue up for 45 min at those fancy brunch places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I make these often and we all love them. Although, I usually don't add the nutmeg as it is a strong spice to me. I let the batter rest for a half hour also. MMMMMMMM yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
An easy recipe for delicious pancakes - for when you do not want to mess with Kaiserschmarrn but want to get something similar. To get them rise, make sure: the oven and the pan are hot enough, there is enough batter to cover the pan, the oven is operating in plain double-sided heating mode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andriy Moraru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I MADE IT A MINUTE AGO,LOVED THE FLAVOR. I DID ADD A THINLY SLICED APPLE WITH CINNAMON, VANILLA, AND NUTMEG. BUT, OTHER THAN THOSE ADDITIONS MADE IT LIKE THE RECIPE. YES, IT DID DEFLATE AFTER I GOT IT OUT OF THE OVEN, BUT WHO CARES! THE FLAVOR IS WHAT REALLY COUNTS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Perfect! This would be good with some fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I use three eggs total and a tablespoon of sugar for this recipe. No nutmeg. Bake in an 8 x 8 inch pan. 400 degrees for eight minutes and 325 degrees for three minutes. My kids used to call these "giant pancakes" when they were little! I call them delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I used an 8x8 pan, and the butter was WAY too much. Even though the pastry puffed up (I whisked the eggs a lot before I baked it), when it sank back down, some parts were super dense and moist on the bottom because of the butter. And I have to say, with the powdered sugar, it tastes like fair food, in particular, funnel cake (the ingredients are almost identical). I think the fact that the recipe uses so much butter gives it that fried food taste. I wouldn't really call this a breakfast food; it's more of a light dessert. Of course, I guess that's how most American breakfasts are these days. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States