Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Wonderful with greek yogurt , strawberries and powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
YUM! I grew up with Walker Bros. Original Pancake House in IL, and this is just like theirs. I bake a single in a cast iron, and today I doubled and put it in a 9x13 and it was perfect. As others said, use warm eggs, milk, and a HOT pan. I use a fraction of the butter (just enough to wet the pan); I dislike puddles of butter at the bottom. Powdered sugar + generous lemon juice, and it's heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Fantastic!! I'm not a baker so I was a little hesitant in even trying but it worked great!! Yes, take the advice of others and make sure your eggs and milk are room temp, that makes a huge difference. It's easy and nummy!! Don't go another weekend without giving these dutch babies a fair shake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I see these on menus every so often and never get them b/c they seemed so much more marked up than even regular pancakes. Since I was craving something to go with my maple syrup and the ingredient list for dutch babies was shorter than for pancakes, I gave it a go. First though, I read a bunch of the reviews, and it appears that the moon and stars have to line up correctly for these to turn out right. So I figure I'd just give it a go...I halved the recipe, heated up the milk for 20 secs and threw the egg in there to warm up while I prepped the rest. No measuring, no expectations....figured the dogs would get a late night snack if nothing else. I followed the directions with the oven temp, but I used muffin tins, and it worked out...perfectly. If it's of any interest, it's freezing outside and I assume humid, b/c it's always humid in these parts. Texture is as many described...sort of custardy...like the inside of a french toast? Flavor is very neutral. I'm glad that I was able to make these, so now I won't queue up for 45 min at those fancy brunch places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I make these often and we all love them. Although, I usually don't add the nutmeg as it is a strong spice to me. I let the batter rest for a half hour also. MMMMMMMM yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
An easy recipe for delicious pancakes - for when you do not want to mess with Kaiserschmarrn but want to get something similar. To get them rise, make sure: the oven and the pan are hot enough, there is enough batter to cover the pan, the oven is operating in plain double-sided heating mode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I MADE IT A MINUTE AGO,LOVED THE FLAVOR. I DID ADD A THINLY SLICED APPLE WITH CINNAMON, VANILLA, AND NUTMEG. BUT, OTHER THAN THOSE ADDITIONS MADE IT LIKE THE RECIPE. YES, IT DID DEFLATE AFTER I GOT IT OUT OF THE OVEN, BUT WHO CARES! THE FLAVOR IS WHAT REALLY COUNTS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Perfect! This would be good with some fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I use three eggs total and a tablespoon of sugar for this recipe. No nutmeg. Bake in an 8 x 8 inch pan. 400 degrees for eight minutes and 325 degrees for three minutes. My kids used to call these "giant pancakes" when they were little! I call them delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I used an 8x8 pan, and the butter was WAY too much. Even though the pastry puffed up (I whisked the eggs a lot before I baked it), when it sank back down, some parts were super dense and moist on the bottom because of the butter. And I have to say, with the powdered sugar, it tastes like fair food, in particular, funnel cake (the ingredients are almost identical). I think the fact that the recipe uses so much butter gives it that fried food taste. I wouldn't really call this a breakfast food; it's more of a light dessert. Of course, I guess that's how most American breakfasts are these days. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States