Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I took some tips from gooddealmeg and used a 9” pan. Omitted nutmeg, I love nutmeg but not in this type of recipe. I used vanilla but honestly, at one teaspoon, it was too much for my taste and will cut it down to ½ teas today. I also warmed the eggs under temped water, warmed the milk in the microwave for 30 seconds and preheated the pan in the oven. My oven tends to run a little hot so I kept a very close eye on it and it was done in 10 minutes baked at 475. Perhaps a little too well done though not burned, it was on the edge of being burned. Will make this again today. The only reason I rate four stars is due to changing the original recipe. Otherwise it is a five star recipe as far as taste and easy preparation goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I'd give this more stars, but mine always "deflates" right after I take it out of the oven. Could be because I use a glass pie pan instead of a cast iron skillet. Still, it tastes good and no one complains about it being flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookgirl1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Fast and easy, these make a wonderful addition to the weekend breakfast lineup. Tired of the usual pancake/oatmeal/egg/waffle/french toast rotation? Try this. It takes only minutes to make, tastes incredible topped with macerated fresh berries, and some homemade whipped cream! I doubled the recipe and baked it in a heavy-gague, high-sided, 10-inch round cake pan. I used bacon grease instead of oil. Soooooooo awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALLYKFANATIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Snow Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This recipe has it all: simplicity & taste. Really, all you need is the 2 eggs, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup flour, and butter to stop it from sticking and the rest is to taste. Try it with cinnamon sugar & maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I love these! The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. I liked it, but decided to personalize it a bit. I now make it with vanilla instead of nutmeg, and I use an additional egg. I adore this for a late night snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magpie
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Did not rise as much as i wanted it to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
super tasty and EASY!!! added a teaspoon of vanilla and a pinch of white sugar, and cooked it in a 9" round baking pan- worked out great! ate mine w/ fresh lemon juice, blueberries and splenda sprinkled on top- a super diabetic friendly breakfast or dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Basic, very good. Haven't figured out how to keep the edges from burning yet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this recipe and it turned out just like I remembered it from years ago. I did just a couple things different - Mixed my dry ingredients together, beat eggs slightly and then added the milk. I added the flour and whisked it together with a gravy whisker but it probably could be done in a blender. I heated my skillet up - melted the butter and coated the sides. I kept my skillet on the heat and let the mixture start bubbling and then put it in the oven - This worked perfectly! yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it was completely flat. Next time, I will try to warm up the ingredients to see if it will fluff up properly. Other than that, it tasted good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States