Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe is NOT complicated.. Use the iron pan, it's worth it. Follow the directions, and they turn out perfect. Just remember, if you are increasing the recipe, the butter does not need to be increased as it's just for keeping your Dutch Babies from sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d.anna.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This one is a keeper for sure! The secret is definitely to have the milk and eggs at room temperature. I made them this morning and served with apple chunks sauteed with butter, brown sugar and cinnamon. TO DIE FOR. I made them in a corn muffin skillet that has heart shaped wells, and they puffed up to double the size of the wells. Unfortunately, the flavor of the topping eclipsed the nutmeg and vanilla (I added) in the cakes, but the one I added only powdered sugar to was delicately flavored and lovely. If I served with apples again I would add a little more salt to the babies for balance. Also DO NOT open the oven to check on them; I did and the center baby deflated prematurely. Oh, and mine took 20 minutes to rise and brown. Deceptively easy to make, they were a huge hit served right from the oven out of the skillet at the table for puffy drama. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This recipe worked great for me in my well-seasoned cast iron skillet. I took it out a minute early so it didn't brown too much. I substituted vanilla for the nutmeg and topped with lemon and powdered sugar. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made 3 of these for our New Year's brunch, the first as written and the others with revisions. As written I would only give this 4 stars. My revisions were to use my earthenware pie plates, slice an apple in the melted butter and lightly sprinkle that with cinnamon sugar mix. These I started at 450, reduced to 425 just until they started to puff, then reduced again to 350 and baked for 30 more minutes. There was no egginess and the apple mixture added texture and flavor. Thank you, Barbara for pointing me in the right direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Made this today!! A wonderful Christmas brunch Dutch Baby! Everyone loved it! I did use the skillet and it was easy, fast and to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westseattlebodyworks
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was an easy breakfast dish to put together but for some reason I didn't get the volume I had hoped for. The flavor was OK but the toppings are what made it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe, I had this at a restaurant and just had to make it at home, I was spending a lot going out just for this yummy dish! First time I made it, it was disgusting!! Second time I made it, it tasted just like the restaurant dish and I was very pleased and unlike reviewers complaining about the skillet, I used a non cast iron skillet and it came out amazing, skillets are OK! What I would recommend however, is going with the reviewers suggestions of placing the eggs in hot water for 2-3 minutes and warming the milk for about 20 seconds. I think this really helped it come together the second time I made it. I added a pinch of cinnamon and still used a pinch of nutmeg and vanilla. I would highly recommend using 3 eggs instead of 2 so it won't taste so floury and bake 20-25 minutes, not 12. It tasted just like the restaurant dish and I was amazed, it even baked just as it should. I like mines without the syrup or fruit and I dust it with powdered sugar and top it with fresh lemon juice. I was very impressed at how easy it was to make and I was going to give up after my second try and leave it for the pros. I'm an amateur cook and this tasted just like the professionals. Happy cooking!! Hope this review helps and it's just as satisfying for you and your family as it was for me, I'll be making this regularly and I'm gonna awe my amazing boyfriend with this dish. Enjoy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teetee830
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I have made these before but never taken the time to review. These are so good. I've never had trouble with them rising. This time I used my cast iron skillet, and warmed eggs and milk. It did get fluffier than in the past. I also added vanilla just because I love it. The thing to remember is they will deflate some when you cut into them and be more pancake like in places still so good! I topped with homemade apple butter and powedered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teetee830

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was great. I added a bit of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States