Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Good recipe, I never cook but since my wife is a superb cook thank goodness I don't have to. She just got the new IPad 3 and wanted to try the IPad, the recipe and me out all at the same time we went for an old favorite of ours----the Dutch baby pancake. We modified your recipe by the following substitutions: A teaspoon of vanilla for the nutmeg A 1/2 cup of buttermilk instead of milk Net result was very tasty but we didn't get the big rise like the ones they serve at the Original Pancake House (not IHOP). We think our Kitchen Aide oven is on the weak side so for the last 5 min. we boosted the heat to 450.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thurston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tiburon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
my husbands grandmother used to make these under a different name for him all the time. I was very excited when I found the recipe, I used some of the other reviewers suggestions - they came out fluffy but flattened a bit once out of the pan. they still tasted great and my husband was so happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Love this recipe!!! I add cinnamon and vanilla and top with melted strawberry jelly. Soooo delish. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mld685

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I followed the suggestions to warm milk and eggs but the center of the pancake was flat and gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was fabulous!! I made it exactly as directed.. no additions of any kind. I'm going to make it a favorite. One note.. if the cooking time is up and it hasn't risen fully, leave it in a few more minutes, watching carefully. It will puff beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is so good! I like mine with just powdered sugar, but I've also topped with a strawberry sauce which was awesome too. I have made this several times and used room temp eggs and milk. Once I was out of butter and used olive oil instead and it worked but it wasn't near as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This dutch baby is very good. You can add anything to it to make it better but it is already awesome. We added fresh whipping cream and maple syrup on top. This is the best recipe our whole family has ever tasted we will make this weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe is NOT complicated.. Use the iron pan, it's worth it. Follow the directions, and they turn out perfect. Just remember, if you are increasing the recipe, the butter does not need to be increased as it's just for keeping your Dutch Babies from sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d.anna.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This one is a keeper for sure! The secret is definitely to have the milk and eggs at room temperature. I made them this morning and served with apple chunks sauteed with butter, brown sugar and cinnamon. TO DIE FOR. I made them in a corn muffin skillet that has heart shaped wells, and they puffed up to double the size of the wells. Unfortunately, the flavor of the topping eclipsed the nutmeg and vanilla (I added) in the cakes, but the one I added only powdered sugar to was delicately flavored and lovely. If I served with apples again I would add a little more salt to the babies for balance. Also DO NOT open the oven to check on them; I did and the center baby deflated prematurely. Oh, and mine took 20 minutes to rise and brown. Deceptively easy to make, they were a huge hit served right from the oven out of the skillet at the table for puffy drama. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States