Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Made this for brunch today. It was delicious. I mixed it in the blender. Also, instead of topping with powdered sugar, I cooked mixed berries with sugar and cornstarch (to thicken) and put on top. Yum-O! The only trouble I had was I cut it right when it came out of the oven, and it fell completely flat. Maybe I should have waited a few minutes?? Tasted fabulous though either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMommyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylva, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
these are great...they are also nice if you divide the batter and make individual babies...i top mine with apples fried in butter withe brown sugar and lemon juice...i too substitute vanilla for the nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Love dutch babies "oven pancakes". This kids and I always enjoy these for breakfast. So simple to make. Just throw everything in the blender and whip it up and then pour into the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Just made these and they were an instant hit! I did make a few changes: used a dutch oven instead of a skillet (bit of a warning: the center takes longer to cook this way); I'd run out of butter, so I used vegetable oil to grease the pan; lined the bottom of the pan with two granny smith apples, thinly sliced and tossed with 1 tsp of cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg (I subbed the nutmeg in the recipe with 1 tsp vanilla), and 1/8 cup of sugar, then poured the batter on top. It came out fluffy and beautiful on my first try, so I'm very impressed. Besides, my bf (who never eats breakfast) had two slices, right when he woke up! That alone makes this recipe worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
AMAZING! Followed the suggestions from the 2 "Most Helpful" reviews and it came our perfectly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
The secret to success is indeed warmed milk and warmed eggs. Like the other reviewer , I zapped the milk for 30 seconds in the microwave while I let the eggs warm in hot tap water. I have used duck and goose eggs with this recipe for even more spectacular results! I could see using this as a "crust" for spinach or asparagus and cheese and I have rhubarb that I am going to compote and use as filling.Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Followed all of 'gooddealmeg's suggestions and they were great. It's so exciting to watch these puff up. They are filling, and I have mini cast iron skillets, so I make one per person in each. I usually add in 1/4 - 1/2 a teaspoon of cinnamon instead of the nutmeg (personal preference and what I have at home), and love to serve this with 2 spoonfuls of jam and a spoonful of water, microwaved to make a sauce. My other favorite thing to do when apples are in season is to dice an apple, sprinkle with cinnamon and a few squirts of maple syrup and to microwave for a minute, stir, microwave for another minute then throw on top of the baked Dutch baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Since my toddler is very picky, I decided to have her 'help' me cook. I chose this recipe because I remembered being fond of it as a child, plus it was easy for her to pour all the pre-measured ingredients into the bowl. She was fascinated with the "fluff" and ate it up! Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Yummy! I split them in half and serve with sausage or bacon and fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States