Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Isn't this St. Francis Hotel recipe? Works well but if you heat the skillet on the stove it will provide a better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
To be perfectly honest, this is one of my favorite recipes to make. Definitely a change from the regular pancake sort of thing. We serve this with maple syrup and some bacon on the side. Marvelous! If you have kids, gather them around the oven door window for some fun as this Dutch baby changes from one interesting form to another. (In fact, any men in the house will enjoy the show just as much!) Thanks, Barbara, for sharing your great-grandmother's recipe with all of us. My family has thoroughly enjoyed it many, many times since we first came across your recipe. Excellent recipe to keep and to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I added cinnamon in addition to the nutmeg. Very good with fresh fruit on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Fox

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I made it exactly as written except I used a regular non-stick skillet instead of cast iron. Turned out 'delish!' according to the people who ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The first time I tried this recipe, I ended up with a pretty uneven "lift" puffing only one side of my skillet. It was still tasty, but having made it three times now I have finally mastered it. First, I use my handheld electric mixer and make sure my eggs are extra fluffy. I was nervous to over-beat the mixture but I went for it and once everything was added I made sure it was still getting fluffy. I used to use my hand whisk and didn't get the same results. I do pull out the hand whisk after I add the flour but I'm pretty sure I could get away with using the mixer on low even at that stage. I find the vanilla suggested by other reviewers to be kind of perfect in this (you can really taste it!) and a bit of sugar in the batter -- a teaspoon is fine -- really gets it nice and golden. Oh, and tons of powdered sugar to serve! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
great recipe, looks and tastes amazing, thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This recipe is perfectly flavored, but HAS to be doubled and baked a little longer. Then you get the creamy eggy pancake center and the crispy, browned, spectacularly puffed edges. Delicious and one of our favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Divine! Huge hit in our family. I double up the recipe with no problems to the outcome. I have added all sort of fruit before and after and it is always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
We really enjoyed the the Dutch Babies..... They kind of taste like Yorkshire Puddings. I baked them in 2 6" cast iron fry pans.... they turned out really well....next time I would put more flavouring in.... like vanilla, more nutmeg, lemon zest.... and some cinnamon. I think they would work with some savory spices like rosemary, garlic,parsley,or chives mixed in the batter.... then fill the bowl with chicken or beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is by far the best!!! LOVE !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States