Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This recipe is the best, I substitute cinnamon for the nutmeg but otherwise I make it exactly as it says. It is easy, impressive looking a so good. I use maple syrup and butter like a traditional pancake. I have found you get the best puffiness using the whisk on my hand stick blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Hull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Soooo easy and delicious just follow the recipe, do not try to substitute any other kind of pan for the cast iron and don't put the butter in the pan until you are ready to pour in the batter. I let the pan heat while the oven came up to 425, at 475 the butter will want to burn. The Baby comes out perfect every time! Please note that the puff deflates very rapidly this is a variety of pancake, not a soufflé.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Great base recipe for making sweet, and/or savory Dutch Babies. When I made the sweet version, I added 1 tsp vanilla extract, a home-made dessert blend of spices with cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, ginger, & cardamom and topped with warm maple syrup. I followed the suggestions of using room temp eggs & milk and it puffed up just fine then deflated to a light, eggy pancake. Next up...savory style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by James Fleming
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
People rave about these, can't miss with this recipe. I just added a little vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I messed this recipe up thinking that you had to make it in two pans, oops! Now I know that the batter all goes into ONE pan, which I used a round cake pan because I was too lazy to get the cast iron skillet. The bottoms ended up crispy and the taste was still the same. Topped it with butter, powdered sugar, lemon and syrup (ALL OF THE TOPPINGS!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Impressive. Also delicious. Easy too. It's like a big flat sugary popover. I warmed the eggs in hot water and microwaved the milk a little to bring both up to room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made it, altered it. Trying adding 1/4tsp vanilla extract, and a pinch of cinnamon, and a 1/2tsp of lemon juice. My boys loved it dusted with powdered sugar and blueberry pancake syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
good, but they are just a sweet yorkshire pudding made for breakfast. same ingredients, l love putting strawberry jam on mine. As l little bit of lemon jest on or in batter is refreshing. Heating pan is the key and get batter in asap. Also batter should be room temp for about an hour for it to rise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Harks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Delicious. Crispy edges. Soft and fluffy center. Made some adjustments as suggested by some of the top reviews. 1) Room temp eggs and milk. Soaked eggs in hot tap water for 2-3 minutes. Microwaved milk for 20 seconds. 2) baked at 400 for 20 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This is our go-to Dutch Babies recipes on Sunday mornings! We love them just like this and I don't change a thing! WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States