Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kodey Kinder
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Didn't turn out anything like it was supposed to. For thing it wasn't my last bit of eggs. I had to throw this one out and make a different one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kodey Kinder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I also made a couple of changes. I started at 400 for ten minutes then reduced the heat to 350 for the next ten minutes. Made two batches the first day, and incredible! We used one large cast iron, and another small one because that is what I had available. The big one came out thin and fluffy and the small one came out slightly more eggy. Thin one went with lemon, blackberries, and sugar. Thicker one with roasted eggplant, sauteed mushrooms, and goat cheese. WOW. That was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
A few missing links in this recipe: 1- make sure you preheat your oven in time - 475 degrees takes a long time to heat up; 2- when you pour the batter in the pan, using a potholder pick up the skillet and swirl it around the edges. If you don't do this you'll get a flat, puffy pancake and will miss the whole crispy, fluffy thing; 3 - I've seen this recipe with a squeeze of lemon in the batter (and even on top before the confectioners sugar) and it makes a lovely difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilene Rosenthal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOM2AARON
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I thought this was easy and delicious. Mine was crispy-edged and puffy all over. These pancakes do go down after a few minutes, it's just the way Dutch Babies are. I agree with others that it is good to warm your eggs by sitting them in a bowl of hot water, and heating the milk slightly. I made this just this morning, and thank goodness no one was home, so I didn't have to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM2AARON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
My Grandmother called this Auf Lauf... This recipe is great! I (like my Grannie) put the cast iron skillet in the hot 425 degrees preheated oven with the butter. Wait until the butter melts and wait another minute or 2. It turns into browned butter. Yum. Open the oven just long enough to pour the batter into the skillet. Close the oven and bake until browned about 12-15 minutes. *Important: Start with eggs and milk that are room temperature to lukewarm. It puffs better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Very important tip: Don't use the convection setting as the pancake will not rise as much. My Dutch Baby came out just perfect using this recipe. I used a 10" glass pie pan instead of a cast iron skillet and it worked just fine. This was my favorite, but I just tried another recipe, (Chef John's Dutch Babies), with 3 eggs, 2/3 cup of milk, and 1/2 cup of flour and that was lighter and rose higher. At 425 degrees, it was done in 12-13 minutes, (using either recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Wentsel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I tried this recipe today and chose it over a similar recipe by Chef John...mainly because it seemed easier to prepare. It was easy and tasted just like the Dutch Babies I have had in the past. I didn't realize how much like a crepe they were...no wonder I love it! I didn't change a thing in the recipe. You just need a 10" or 12" iron skillet to prepare it per the recipe. Now that I know how easy it is to make the Dutch Baby will become a regular breakfast item in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Well this was a pleasant surprise. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 12 inch cast iron skillet. Used cold milk and cold eggs. The pancake puffed up beautifully. Will definitely make this again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
The best thing about this recipe is the deliciousness and simplicity of it. I find that this is perfect for cold mornings and it comes out perfect every time! I think if it is slightly less browned around the rim of the "baby" that it reached its peak. I enjoy this with lemon and powdered sugar, and sometimes with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel22
Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Excellent! I doubled the recipe for a 12" cast iron pan and added a touch of pure vanilla extract as suggested by others, along with freshly grated nutmeg; served with real maple syrup, confectioners sugar, and jams. It looked ugly as sin but tasted wonderful. A warning though, it takes a LONG time to heat the cast iron pan in the oven to 475 so be sure to plan for that. We had this for Christmas morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States