Dutch Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The first time I tried this recipe, I ended up with a pretty uneven "lift" puffing only one side of my skillet. It was still tasty, but having made it three times now I have finally mastered it. First, I use my handheld electric mixer and make sure my eggs are extra fluffy. I was nervous to over-beat the mixture but I went for it and once everything was added I made sure it was still getting fluffy. I used to use my hand whisk and didn't get the same results. I do pull out the hand whisk after I add the flour but I'm pretty sure I could get away with using the mixer on low even at that stage. I find the vanilla suggested by other reviewers to be kind of perfect in this (you can really taste it!) and a bit of sugar in the batter -- a teaspoon is fine -- really gets it nice and golden. Oh, and tons of powdered sugar to serve! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
great recipe, looks and tastes amazing, thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This recipe is perfectly flavored, but HAS to be doubled and baked a little longer. Then you get the creamy eggy pancake center and the crispy, browned, spectacularly puffed edges. Delicious and one of our favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Divine! Huge hit in our family. I double up the recipe with no problems to the outcome. I have added all sort of fruit before and after and it is always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
We really enjoyed the the Dutch Babies..... They kind of taste like Yorkshire Puddings. I baked them in 2 6" cast iron fry pans.... they turned out really well....next time I would put more flavouring in.... like vanilla, more nutmeg, lemon zest.... and some cinnamon. I think they would work with some savory spices like rosemary, garlic,parsley,or chives mixed in the batter.... then fill the bowl with chicken or beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is by far the best!!! LOVE !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Wonderful with greek yogurt , strawberries and powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
YUM! I grew up with Walker Bros. Original Pancake House in IL, and this is just like theirs. I bake a single in a cast iron, and today I doubled and put it in a 9x13 and it was perfect. As others said, use warm eggs, milk, and a HOT pan. I use a fraction of the butter (just enough to wet the pan); I dislike puddles of butter at the bottom. Powdered sugar + generous lemon juice, and it's heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Fantastic!! I'm not a baker so I was a little hesitant in even trying but it worked great!! Yes, take the advice of others and make sure your eggs and milk are room temp, that makes a huge difference. It's easy and nummy!! Don't go another weekend without giving these dutch babies a fair shake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I see these on menus every so often and never get them b/c they seemed so much more marked up than even regular pancakes. Since I was craving something to go with my maple syrup and the ingredient list for dutch babies was shorter than for pancakes, I gave it a go. First though, I read a bunch of the reviews, and it appears that the moon and stars have to line up correctly for these to turn out right. So I figure I'd just give it a go...I halved the recipe, heated up the milk for 20 secs and threw the egg in there to warm up while I prepped the rest. No measuring, no expectations....figured the dogs would get a late night snack if nothing else. I followed the directions with the oven temp, but I used muffin tins, and it worked out...perfectly. If it's of any interest, it's freezing outside and I assume humid, b/c it's always humid in these parts. Texture is as many described...sort of custardy...like the inside of a french toast? Flavor is very neutral. I'm glad that I was able to make these, so now I won't queue up for 45 min at those fancy brunch places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States