Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Love this recipe. I also split the sugar between white and brown. Add a little nutmeg in he topping. Don't use the parchment paper and the pie turns out great! I have a stoneware pie plate and it is large. I use 6-7 apples to fill the pie. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tehmamalady
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I used only 3 apples and skipped the paper bag step. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Win
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This turned out AWESOMELY!! My guests loved it. I was very glad to read the comments, because I checked my parchment paper and it was good up to 420 degrees, which was fine for 1 hour baking. This is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by craysen
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Ive made this pie for a couple years now and it is amazing!.... the parchment makes the pie very hot so be sure to use crisp granny smiths. Also for the best taste I substitute the flour in the apple mixture with clearjel. Clearjel is a modified cornstarch used in baking and preserving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My topping turned to mush, not crumbly at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrMccall
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this pie today as a break from the normal Apple pies I've made for the holidays. I added oats to the topping for that little extra texture. Also I didn't use the parchment and reduced the cooking time to 40 mins. I originally set my timer for 60 mins and just watched the pie. I took it out when the crust and topping turned a crispy golden brown. I allowed the pie to cool before cutting into it. It still came out excessively "juicy". My son says the flavor is excellent and he says its a 9/10. I haven't tried the pie yet, but it does smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Captain Petunia
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
next time I will skip the freezer step and just put the pie on the bottom rack of the oven. I also baked the pie and extra 20 minutes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I can't believe this one doesn't have more reviews! I skipped the parchment paper and used pink lady apples, just because that's what I had available. Best apple pie I've ever tasted, never mind made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
The pie turned out quite OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Really delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and baked for 45 minutes without parchment paper. Only issue was the crust edges burned. I would cover the edges with foil or reduce heat to 350 for the last 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States