Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Just made this today. Recipe is true to it's name, it definitely tastes like something you'd find in PA Dutch country. My pie didn't exactly look like the picture :( and I think it could have used maybe one or two more apples, because my apples really cooked down. Also, I did not cook it like the recipe said, I used no parchment and cooked it on 450 for 10 minutes then lowered it to 350 for 35 minutes, because it was very similar to a breakfast apple pie recipe I made recently. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen in Maryland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sykesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was so good!! I used Fuji apples and left out the lemon juice. I didn't have a pastry tool though to cut in the butter. I soften it a bit and used and potatoe masher. Next time I'll skip the crumb topping and just do a regular one. I don't think it came out quite right. But.... the apples inside were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This pie was a big hit with guests at a party I brought it to. Yes, it is tart. I happen to like my pies a bit tart to balance the sweetness. If you don't, I'd suggest reducing the lemon. I sliced my apples pretty thin, and when the pie was baked, they were mush (but YUMMY!) Perhaps next time, I'll slice them at least 1/2" thick. The topping ends up like a chewy shortbread cookie, and it is very satisfying. If you like gooey, sweet/tart pies, this is the recipe for you. My favorite pie is strawberry/ rhubarb, and usually I think apple pies are boring. This one is a standout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is the first (and only) apple pie I have ever made! It was simple, quick prep and came out amazing! My boyfriend, an apple connoisseur was very impressed! Here are my modifications: -3 smaller Cortland apples -2 Granny Smith -pre-made graham cracker crust -1/2 cup sugar TOTAL (1/4 cup for mix, 1/4 cup for topping) -For the topping I used 1/4C sugar, 1C flour, 1C butter to double the recipe (it didn't seem to cover the entire pie the first time) -1 piece of parchment paper loosely placed over the pie and gently folded under the pie plate, this is not tight at all (the paper browns but has never burnt!) I use the 3 sweeter apples in place of extra sugar, so the reduced sugar doesn't really change the taste of the pie. The topping and the mixture come out so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lintacious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I was suprised at how good this was considering the simplicity of the ingredients. Since I didn't have any parchment I didn't use any and it turned out fine, although I had to loosely cover it with foil about half way through. I'll definately try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
excellant pie... I used white parchement from wilson's which has a heat of 400 max... so I lowered the temp and baked it 10 mins more.. with a cookie sheet that was bigger than the pie dish and the paper did not touch the rack or sides etc.. I think that in the receipe for people who do not register to see the ratings you should tell them that there is possiblity of fire... at the high temp... you can cook a pie at a lower temp just have to cook it longer... this is a safety factor that should be addressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
It is so easy to make and it tastes great. a big hit at the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This pie is really amazing and soo easy! A bought crust on the bottom works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I've made this pie numberous times, and it has been a great hit every time! It's simple to assemble, and comes out perfect every time. I didn't adjust the recipe at all. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is the best apple pie I have ever eaten. The bottom crust is crispy and the spice blends wonderfully with the apples. It makes a very beautiful pie. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States