Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The topping was way to buttery and the flavor was not the best .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycooker67

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was the first apple pie I've ever made. It was great! My hubby loved it. A few things I did: I did not use parchment paper and it turned out fine, I used 2 granny smith and 2 Gala apples so it was not so tart (I don't like them that tart. I won't use any granny smith next time though. I didn't measure out my cinnamon, I like it alot so i used more. When I sliced my apples I would put a layer in the pie crust and sprinkle the cinn., sugar, flour mix ontop and repeat after every layer of apples. I one thing I had a problem with was the topping, when I mixed the butter, flour and sugar it turned into a paste or really wet dough so I used a lot more flour and sugar to get it to be a little more crumbly. All in all it was very good and I will be making this one again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I am from Guatemala, and I had never done an apple pie before... This is absolutely incredible. Easy, tasty and just great. I combined it with the Never fail pie crust II from this website and the results are amazing. I definitely recommend it. P.S. I didn't need to cover it as the recipe suggests, and the egg adds to the color of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jumarovo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This pie turned out SO good! I followed the recipe, but I did NOT bake it inside parchment paper. I simply stuck my pie in the oven at whatever temperature the recipe said to and I baked it for about 50 minutes. I would definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
The pie itself was good not great. And the topping was awful. It cooked up like a sugar glaze or something, it had like a hard shell when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Anytime you bake apples and cinnamon together you can't go too wrong, but this recipe isn't my favorite. The topping isn't crunchy like most crumb toppings, and there seems to be too much flour that just doesn't incorporate into the filling. It's not awful, it's just not awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Just made this today. Recipe is true to it's name, it definitely tastes like something you'd find in PA Dutch country. My pie didn't exactly look like the picture :( and I think it could have used maybe one or two more apples, because my apples really cooked down. Also, I did not cook it like the recipe said, I used no parchment and cooked it on 450 for 10 minutes then lowered it to 350 for 35 minutes, because it was very similar to a breakfast apple pie recipe I made recently. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen in Maryland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sykesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was so good!! I used Fuji apples and left out the lemon juice. I didn't have a pastry tool though to cut in the butter. I soften it a bit and used and potatoe masher. Next time I'll skip the crumb topping and just do a regular one. I don't think it came out quite right. But.... the apples inside were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This pie was a big hit with guests at a party I brought it to. Yes, it is tart. I happen to like my pies a bit tart to balance the sweetness. If you don't, I'd suggest reducing the lemon. I sliced my apples pretty thin, and when the pie was baked, they were mush (but YUMMY!) Perhaps next time, I'll slice them at least 1/2" thick. The topping ends up like a chewy shortbread cookie, and it is very satisfying. If you like gooey, sweet/tart pies, this is the recipe for you. My favorite pie is strawberry/ rhubarb, and usually I think apple pies are boring. This one is a standout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is the first (and only) apple pie I have ever made! It was simple, quick prep and came out amazing! My boyfriend, an apple connoisseur was very impressed! Here are my modifications: -3 smaller Cortland apples -2 Granny Smith -pre-made graham cracker crust -1/2 cup sugar TOTAL (1/4 cup for mix, 1/4 cup for topping) -For the topping I used 1/4C sugar, 1C flour, 1C butter to double the recipe (it didn't seem to cover the entire pie the first time) -1 piece of parchment paper loosely placed over the pie and gently folded under the pie plate, this is not tight at all (the paper browns but has never burnt!) I use the 3 sweeter apples in place of extra sugar, so the reduced sugar doesn't really change the taste of the pie. The topping and the mixture come out so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lintacious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States