Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I've made this twice, first time I did not use the parchment paper and the edges were over cooked, second time I used the paper and it was much better with a golden color. I used splenda in place of the sugar and added just a dash of nutmeg also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Excellent pie! I didn't use the parchment paper, instead I lowered the heat to 400* for one hour. This pie has a perfect blend between tart and sweet. I will use this recipe over and over I'm sure. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This pie is incredible!! Although I don't wrap it in parchment paper, it's still the most delicious apple pie my family has ever tried. I received many compliments after making this at Thanksgiving this year. Considering my husband's mother is quite the baker, I know this is a testament to the trying a pie based on the reviews that were written on your site. Thank you! mpliments at my Thanksgiving meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Never having made a pie with a topping, I was unsure how to put the topping on. It was very sticky and I kind of just globbed it on there the best I could. It looked messy but was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This pie was DELICIOUS! I used another recipe for crust (the baking powder one here on All Recipes), and the crust was just pretty good. The filling and topping were simply out of this world delicious! I used 4 granny smith apples and one pippin, and added extra cinnamon (on accident, but it worked out well). Otherwise, I followed the directions as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I love this recipe! It's easy and one of the best pies I have tried/made. I tweaked a few things. I used 6 Macintosh apples, added 2T. more sugar to the apples, and to the topping I added 1t. of allspice - I like the holidays spicey. It was gone so fast I have to make another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Todd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I like my apples to just melt in the mouth, so I used Gala apples instead. I also omitted the lemon juice. The first time I made this, I forgot about the parchment paper part and 45 minutes into baking I took it out of the oven worried that it was burnt. It came out perfect. The second time, I did the same thing except I did the parchment paper part and baked it the whole hour. I think it looked better the first time. It was a little more burnt the second time, so 1 hour is too long. The crumb top kinda melts in the parchment paper and looks a bit unappetizing. The crumb top stays together and looks nice without the parchment paper step, so I also recommend 45 minutes of baking without the parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Great Pie! I have been looking for an easy recipe that makes a great pie. Stapling the paper helps it to keep it closed. DO NOT USE PAPER BAGS! Those are not designed for baking, parchment paper from the grocery store,(found next to the wax paper) is what you need. Make sure that your parchment paper bag is just large enough for the pie, any larger and you run the risk of it touching the sides or grates and fire may erupt. Cookie sheets are a must. I used McIntosh apples, and the pie was great, next time I will use granny apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
VERY GOOD - DOESN'T HAVE TO BAKE FOR 1HR THOUGH{CRUST A LITTLE TOO DONE} I'D SAY 45MIN - DID NOT USE PARCHMENT PAPER - CHEATED, USED FROZEN PIE CRUST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
very easy with the parchment paper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States