Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Excellent recipe, I just made the best apple pies I have ever tasted. My children love them. I made a few adjustments to my taste. Instead of using 2 tbs, I used half a lemon. It was too lemony with 2 tbs. For the topping mixture, I added some milk to soften the consistency in order to pour on top. It comes out great because the topping fills in all the nukes and crannies between the apple filling and you get a very nice crisp topping as well as crisp filling. I was able to make two apples pies with this one recipe. I split it 50/50. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I agree with lawavediva who said this is way too tart. I have been baking for almost 50 years and know most people like a sweet apple pie. I would also use brown sugar for the topping. There are better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I've made a pie like this for years and it always gets rave reviews. I use 1/2 cup brown sugar in the topping instead of white sugar and just bake in the oven without any parchment paper until the topping is brown and slightly crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This pie was good the first day, but the second day it was really mushy. Also, the apples were more tart than other pies I have made. It was good, but I would recommend making it for an occasion when it will all get eaten at once, not just for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was my first time making apple pie. I followed the recipe except I used a frozen pie crust. 5 apples did not fit in the deep dish crust- I had some left over. Also, while mine came out good, it did not look like the photo (the butter/flour/sugar mixture seemed to melt into the pie rather than staying on top). It is a tarter type apple pie, but both my husband and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I honestly don't think I will ever even LOOK at another apple pie recipe again! This was fabulous. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I doubled the top-crust and added some caramel pieces and it was great!! I also used Honeycomb apples instead, I think they make a better pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I bought a gluten free frozen pie crust and used a gluten free flour mix to make the topping (our house has special diet needs) and to my surprise and delight this still tasted fantastic!! My boyfriend was so excited and our guests couldn't even tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was the first apple pie I had ever made and it came out beautiful. I was so proud of it. It was delicious and perfect. I could have entered it for a prize it was so perfect. This is a great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinqueen86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Wonderfully delicious!! My father (who hates cooked fruit) loved this recipe. I used a 100 year old crust and it tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States