Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
The pastry is filled uncooked. The butter infuses it and makes the best part of the pie. I think I will use a stapler next time for the parchment bag. We ate this tart appel pie last night. A small piece from the refridgerator this morning was even better! Now we have half a buttery tart appel pie in the fridge. What to do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaddieB
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I've made this pie a few times now. Always used white parchment paper and stapling it closed. This last time I used gala apples and some red delicious and yellow supreme. Turned out great again. Not mushy. The filling was solid, not runny. Topping was prefectly browned. I did not change any ingredients. I like this pie because I can make it for my grandson who has allergies to peanuts, diary (I used crisco for crust and Fleishmans margarine for the topping) and egg. Next time maybe I'll try substituting brown sugar for some of the sugar as I do love brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was my first pie, and everyone loved it! The topping was wonderful! If a recipe says "parchment paper"- you should probably use parchment paper and not just a bag. Also, as with anything, I tweaked this recipe to fit into what I was craving... I shop at Fresh Market, and their apples are HUGE so I only used four. I split the sugar and used 1/4 c. white and 1/4 c. brown (packed), and I used a bit more cinnamon. When I made the topping, I used an extra 1/4 c. flour and again split the sugar so I used equal amounts brown and white. I then added 1/4 c. pecans to the topping. Also, we love crust!! so I bought a ready made, and put the top crust on, then put the topping on the top crust and cut four slits in it. I thought it might not work, but actually the crust was so good, one comment I got was "This topping makes it!" For baking, I used REAL white parchment paper, and folded it into the packet then stapled it closed! I baked it at 400 for 70 min. because the white parchment paper can't go above 420. It could have come out a minute or two earlier, but it is perfectly done! It'n not over-baked at all, just the color could be a little prettier (lighter on top). Really a great recipe! Don't listen to the negative reviews, I wasn't going to make this one, but I'm soooooo glad I did! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
made this for Christmas, a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
STRONGLY suggest that you do NOT use parchment paper as suggested. Causes crisp granny smith apples to take on the mushy consistancy of baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! It takes a little time to make, but it is definitely worth it. Also, I didn't use parchment paper, and used a little bit more flour and sugar for the top coat of the pie. It was very ugly when it came out of the oven, but me and my boyfriend dug into it, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Top came out yummy and crumbly, more so than expected. Pleasant surprise! Was a little difficult to spread the top mixture over the apples. Only used 2 large apples. Not sure how you could possibly fit 5 into a 9" crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I have a sister in law who has this exact recipe from her Swedish grandmother. She gave it to me, and when it didn't turn out for me like it did for her, I looked here. This recipe is identical in ingredients, but the temp and baking time is different. I tried to bake a 9" pie (Pyrex glass dish) at 400 degrees for 70 minutes, as another reviewer recommended. 70 minutes is way too long. I will try again another time, but I think this recipe would be great at 400 degrees for 60 minutes. 350 is too low and 425 is way too high. I used parchment paper as well. (Sis-in law almost set kitchen on fire with a brown bag) I personally like a double crust pie as well. Make sure if you are making the topping not to use margarine as it melts into a goo. Use real butter. I'm working on a lighter version that still tastes delicious, so I'll post that when I perfect it. (This was my first pie) So, bake at 400 for 60 minutes after your crust has been pre-baked at 350 for 15 min. Use 1/3 Granny Smith apples, and mix in seasonal varieties such as Gravenstein, Golden Delicious, and HoneyCrisp! :) This mixture of apples adds a great dimension to the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RyanMichelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
So, me and my boyfriend had never baked a pie ever before. This is the first one we tried, andnow itll be the only one we use. We did modify it though, simply because we accidentally left some things out. We did NOT use the lemon juice. Which would be why ours wasn't tart. Also we used Fuji apples instead. They taste better. Another thing is that we used A basic flaky pie crust recipe, also found on this site. Also we baked in a glass pan covered with tin foil for 45 min. then uncovered for 15. Came out nicely golden and cooked crisp on edges. For the topping we rolled out the mix into a second pie like crust and sealed the pie completely, Cutting slits in the top to make it look like an authentic home made pie. Ill add pictures as soon as our 4th batch is done. They have all come out sweet. and weren't soggy the next day as others have complained. Although....everyone know leftovers don't keep as well as the original. Maybe its how you're storing it in your fridge. As to the smarty pant that caught their kitchen on fire with a paper bag...there is a difference between a paper bag and baking parchment paper. I'd never made a pie before and even I knew that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Buck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
great pie recipe, thanks alot the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States