Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Wonderful, I am really bad in the kitchen, but this recipe it is so easy and nice, that It makes me look like an expert. I've been making this for Xmas the last 3 years and it is always a success. I make the crust from the Ruth's grandma's pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was fabulous. I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out to be so delicious. I would add another apple next time I make it and I lowered the oven to 420 degrees because that's the max for parchment paper in the oven. Thanks to whomever shared this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
The pastry is filled uncooked. The butter infuses it and makes the best part of the pie. I think I will use a stapler next time for the parchment bag. We ate this tart appel pie last night. A small piece from the refridgerator this morning was even better! Now we have half a buttery tart appel pie in the fridge. What to do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaddieB
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I've made this pie a few times now. Always used white parchment paper and stapling it closed. This last time I used gala apples and some red delicious and yellow supreme. Turned out great again. Not mushy. The filling was solid, not runny. Topping was prefectly browned. I did not change any ingredients. I like this pie because I can make it for my grandson who has allergies to peanuts, diary (I used crisco for crust and Fleishmans margarine for the topping) and egg. Next time maybe I'll try substituting brown sugar for some of the sugar as I do love brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was my first pie, and everyone loved it! The topping was wonderful! If a recipe says "parchment paper"- you should probably use parchment paper and not just a bag. Also, as with anything, I tweaked this recipe to fit into what I was craving... I shop at Fresh Market, and their apples are HUGE so I only used four. I split the sugar and used 1/4 c. white and 1/4 c. brown (packed), and I used a bit more cinnamon. When I made the topping, I used an extra 1/4 c. flour and again split the sugar so I used equal amounts brown and white. I then added 1/4 c. pecans to the topping. Also, we love crust!! so I bought a ready made, and put the top crust on, then put the topping on the top crust and cut four slits in it. I thought it might not work, but actually the crust was so good, one comment I got was "This topping makes it!" For baking, I used REAL white parchment paper, and folded it into the packet then stapled it closed! I baked it at 400 for 70 min. because the white parchment paper can't go above 420. It could have come out a minute or two earlier, but it is perfectly done! It'n not over-baked at all, just the color could be a little prettier (lighter on top). Really a great recipe! Don't listen to the negative reviews, I wasn't going to make this one, but I'm soooooo glad I did! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
made this for Christmas, a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
STRONGLY suggest that you do NOT use parchment paper as suggested. Causes crisp granny smith apples to take on the mushy consistancy of baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! It takes a little time to make, but it is definitely worth it. Also, I didn't use parchment paper, and used a little bit more flour and sugar for the top coat of the pie. It was very ugly when it came out of the oven, but me and my boyfriend dug into it, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Top came out yummy and crumbly, more so than expected. Pleasant surprise! Was a little difficult to spread the top mixture over the apples. Only used 2 large apples. Not sure how you could possibly fit 5 into a 9" crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I have a sister in law who has this exact recipe from her Swedish grandmother. She gave it to me, and when it didn't turn out for me like it did for her, I looked here. This recipe is identical in ingredients, but the temp and baking time is different. I tried to bake a 9" pie (Pyrex glass dish) at 400 degrees for 70 minutes, as another reviewer recommended. 70 minutes is way too long. I will try again another time, but I think this recipe would be great at 400 degrees for 60 minutes. 350 is too low and 425 is way too high. I used parchment paper as well. (Sis-in law almost set kitchen on fire with a brown bag) I personally like a double crust pie as well. Make sure if you are making the topping not to use margarine as it melts into a goo. Use real butter. I'm working on a lighter version that still tastes delicious, so I'll post that when I perfect it. (This was my first pie) So, bake at 400 for 60 minutes after your crust has been pre-baked at 350 for 15 min. Use 1/3 Granny Smith apples, and mix in seasonal varieties such as Gravenstein, Golden Delicious, and HoneyCrisp! :) This mixture of apples adds a great dimension to the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RyanMichelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States