Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Outstanding! I did make one change. Hubby said his grandma made apple pies with Granny Smith apples, and they were always too tart for him. I took a tip from a cooking video and used 5 different types of apples to mix flavors and textures. I used one each of the following: Gala, Golden Delicious, Fuji, Jonathan, and Honeycrisp. Hubby said this was the best apple pie he's ever had in his life - and we live down the road from the famous Julian apple pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This recipe taste good, baked at a 400 oven it was still too hot of a oven next time 375 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I don't bake, but this recipe is awesome! I didn't use parchment paper (because I don't bake and don't stock it)! I also used thick sliced red delicious apples (because that's what I had on hand) I used brown sugar in the topping mixture, and reduced the cooking time down to about 40 mins, even the neighbors loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is a very easy and delicious recipe! I pre-mixed the apples with the sugar, etc and let it sit for a bit before putting in the pie shell. I was very impressed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Wonderful, I am really bad in the kitchen, but this recipe it is so easy and nice, that It makes me look like an expert. I've been making this for Xmas the last 3 years and it is always a success. I make the crust from the Ruth's grandma's pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was fabulous. I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out to be so delicious. I would add another apple next time I make it and I lowered the oven to 420 degrees because that's the max for parchment paper in the oven. Thanks to whomever shared this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
The pastry is filled uncooked. The butter infuses it and makes the best part of the pie. I think I will use a stapler next time for the parchment bag. We ate this tart appel pie last night. A small piece from the refridgerator this morning was even better! Now we have half a buttery tart appel pie in the fridge. What to do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaddieB
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I've made this pie a few times now. Always used white parchment paper and stapling it closed. This last time I used gala apples and some red delicious and yellow supreme. Turned out great again. Not mushy. The filling was solid, not runny. Topping was prefectly browned. I did not change any ingredients. I like this pie because I can make it for my grandson who has allergies to peanuts, diary (I used crisco for crust and Fleishmans margarine for the topping) and egg. Next time maybe I'll try substituting brown sugar for some of the sugar as I do love brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was my first pie, and everyone loved it! The topping was wonderful! If a recipe says "parchment paper"- you should probably use parchment paper and not just a bag. Also, as with anything, I tweaked this recipe to fit into what I was craving... I shop at Fresh Market, and their apples are HUGE so I only used four. I split the sugar and used 1/4 c. white and 1/4 c. brown (packed), and I used a bit more cinnamon. When I made the topping, I used an extra 1/4 c. flour and again split the sugar so I used equal amounts brown and white. I then added 1/4 c. pecans to the topping. Also, we love crust!! so I bought a ready made, and put the top crust on, then put the topping on the top crust and cut four slits in it. I thought it might not work, but actually the crust was so good, one comment I got was "This topping makes it!" For baking, I used REAL white parchment paper, and folded it into the packet then stapled it closed! I baked it at 400 for 70 min. because the white parchment paper can't go above 420. It could have come out a minute or two earlier, but it is perfectly done! It'n not over-baked at all, just the color could be a little prettier (lighter on top). Really a great recipe! Don't listen to the negative reviews, I wasn't going to make this one, but I'm soooooo glad I did! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
made this for Christmas, a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States