Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
This pie is excellent. This is the first time my husband has ever asked me to make something again. I also put the brown bag on a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
This is a wonderful pie!! However, I used whatever apples I had (can't remember what kind they were) and they baked into a sauce. Nonetheless, it still was a wonderful pie. I used white parchment paper, folded seams, and stapled the seams. I made sure all the staples were accounted for when the pie came out of the paper!! My husband and 4.5 year old just loved it. Easy to make (as far as apple pies go). I'm going to try something similar with blueberries. (Oh, I baked it in the middle of the oven on top of a cookie sheet. The parchment paper caught the spills, so cleaning the cookie sheet was a breeze.) Thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
This was a wonderful pie!! I put the bag on a cookiesheet so it wouldn't sit on the racks. Maybe that is why mine didn't catch fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
A great recipe! I used a thick brown bag and it didn't burn at all. I'll definetly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBASS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
My family and I have been baking this apple pie every week. Friends and family have asked for the recipe! It's GREAT! I use the white parchment paper and when it doesn't fold just right I staple it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I made this for Christmas dinner. I did not have any parchment paper so I did not use it. I'm not sure what the parchment paper does for it, but it came out beautifully. I have a stoneware pie pan so it makes the crust beautiful every time. I was told by guests that this was the best apple pie they ever had. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is the best apple pie I have ever eaten. The bottom crust is crispy and the spice blends wonderfully with the apples. It makes a very beautiful pie. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was wonderful! It's been 8 years since I've made an apple pie because Hubby doesn't like them. My niece and I decided to bake one. My non-apple- pie-eater couldn't resist and really enjoyed this! I added a little bit more flour in with the sugar/cinnamon mixture as well as a little bit of ground tapioca. I also brushed egg on the crust first ~ just to be on the safe side. :o) I wasn't sure how the topping would turn out as it just didn't seem right. I added a tblspn more each of sugar and flour. Maybe it was because my butter was cold. I don't know, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This pie is really amazing and soo easy! A bought crust on the bottom works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I've made this pie numberous times, and it has been a great hit every time! It's simple to assemble, and comes out perfect every time. I didn't adjust the recipe at all. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States