Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
BEWARE!!! don't use any regular paper bags for this recipe, I tried this pie three times, and all three times, the bag, and pie, went up in flames! Either the recipe is excluding an important fact about what kind of paper bag to use, or the oven temperature is too high!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
This was a wonderful pie!! I put the bag on a cookiesheet so it wouldn't sit on the racks. Maybe that is why mine didn't catch fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
A great recipe! I used a thick brown bag and it didn't burn at all. I'll definetly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBASS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
This pie is excellent. This is the first time my husband has ever asked me to make something again. I also put the brown bag on a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
This is a wonderful pie!! However, I used whatever apples I had (can't remember what kind they were) and they baked into a sauce. Nonetheless, it still was a wonderful pie. I used white parchment paper, folded seams, and stapled the seams. I made sure all the staples were accounted for when the pie came out of the paper!! My husband and 4.5 year old just loved it. Easy to make (as far as apple pies go). I'm going to try something similar with blueberries. (Oh, I baked it in the middle of the oven on top of a cookie sheet. The parchment paper caught the spills, so cleaning the cookie sheet was a breeze.) Thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
My family and I have been baking this apple pie every week. Friends and family have asked for the recipe! It's GREAT! I use the white parchment paper and when it doesn't fold just right I staple it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I made this for Christmas dinner. I did not have any parchment paper so I did not use it. I'm not sure what the parchment paper does for it, but it came out beautifully. I have a stoneware pie pan so it makes the crust beautiful every time. I was told by guests that this was the best apple pie they ever had. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I feel bad, because after reading all the great reviews on this recipe, I was surprised to find that I DID NOT like this one! I bake apple pie's for the holidays every year, and they all turn out great. This past holiday, I decided to try something different, and I was sorry I did. It was wayyyy too tart, soggy, and not at all what I expected. I was EMBARRASSED because I brought this one to my future in-laws, and they were polite but I could tell it wasn't the best pie they ever had. I sometimes read these reviews and when I read a negative review I think, "Aw, that person just doesn't know how to cook!" But I've been baking for YEARS, and I LOVE to bake, and my family looks forward to my pies every holiday, but this one- never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
My first apple pie ever. Dutch apple is my wifes favorite so I was determined I would make one. She loved it and so did I. I'll make it again. Very easy. Mine wasnt soggy or too tart. Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was wonderful! It's been 8 years since I've made an apple pie because Hubby doesn't like them. My niece and I decided to bake one. My non-apple- pie-eater couldn't resist and really enjoyed this! I added a little bit more flour in with the sugar/cinnamon mixture as well as a little bit of ground tapioca. I also brushed egg on the crust first ~ just to be on the safe side. :o) I wasn't sure how the topping would turn out as it just didn't seem right. I added a tblspn more each of sugar and flour. Maybe it was because my butter was cold. I don't know, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States