Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I like my apples to just melt in the mouth, so I used Gala apples instead. I also omitted the lemon juice. The first time I made this, I forgot about the parchment paper part and 45 minutes into baking I took it out of the oven worried that it was burnt. It came out perfect. The second time, I did the same thing except I did the parchment paper part and baked it the whole hour. I think it looked better the first time. It was a little more burnt the second time, so 1 hour is too long. The crumb top kinda melts in the parchment paper and looks a bit unappetizing. The crumb top stays together and looks nice without the parchment paper step, so I also recommend 45 minutes of baking without the parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Great Pie! I have been looking for an easy recipe that makes a great pie. Stapling the paper helps it to keep it closed. DO NOT USE PAPER BAGS! Those are not designed for baking, parchment paper from the grocery store,(found next to the wax paper) is what you need. Make sure that your parchment paper bag is just large enough for the pie, any larger and you run the risk of it touching the sides or grates and fire may erupt. Cookie sheets are a must. I used McIntosh apples, and the pie was great, next time I will use granny apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
VERY GOOD - DOESN'T HAVE TO BAKE FOR 1HR THOUGH{CRUST A LITTLE TOO DONE} I'D SAY 45MIN - DID NOT USE PARCHMENT PAPER - CHEATED, USED FROZEN PIE CRUST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
very easy with the parchment paper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The topping was way to buttery and the flavor was not the best .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycooker67

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was the first apple pie I've ever made. It was great! My hubby loved it. A few things I did: I did not use parchment paper and it turned out fine, I used 2 granny smith and 2 Gala apples so it was not so tart (I don't like them that tart. I won't use any granny smith next time though. I didn't measure out my cinnamon, I like it alot so i used more. When I sliced my apples I would put a layer in the pie crust and sprinkle the cinn., sugar, flour mix ontop and repeat after every layer of apples. I one thing I had a problem with was the topping, when I mixed the butter, flour and sugar it turned into a paste or really wet dough so I used a lot more flour and sugar to get it to be a little more crumbly. All in all it was very good and I will be making this one again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I am from Guatemala, and I had never done an apple pie before... This is absolutely incredible. Easy, tasty and just great. I combined it with the Never fail pie crust II from this website and the results are amazing. I definitely recommend it. P.S. I didn't need to cover it as the recipe suggests, and the egg adds to the color of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jumarovo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This pie turned out SO good! I followed the recipe, but I did NOT bake it inside parchment paper. I simply stuck my pie in the oven at whatever temperature the recipe said to and I baked it for about 50 minutes. I would definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
The pie itself was good not great. And the topping was awful. It cooked up like a sugar glaze or something, it had like a hard shell when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Anytime you bake apples and cinnamon together you can't go too wrong, but this recipe isn't my favorite. The topping isn't crunchy like most crumb toppings, and there seems to be too much flour that just doesn't incorporate into the filling. It's not awful, it's just not awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States