Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was the first apple pie I had ever made and it came out beautiful. I was so proud of it. It was delicious and perfect. I could have entered it for a prize it was so perfect. This is a great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinqueen86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Wonderfully delicious!! My father (who hates cooked fruit) loved this recipe. I used a 100 year old crust and it tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I grew up in Pennsylvania, where dutch cooking is big and in our blood. When I made this pie it reminded me so much of Lancaster County and the good amish market cooking! I did not use parchment paper, didn't seem necessary, and it turned out great anyway. My boyfriend ate so much of this he made himself sick and will never eat it again, that is unfortunate, so don't get out of hand because it is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarplum9085

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was a great pie but it came out very liquidy.. does anyone have a tip on how to prevent this from happening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I made this pie last Thanksgiving, and it was DELICIOUS. I took it to a dessert get together at our friends house and the entire pie was gone within half an hour. Luckily, I made two so I could have an extra at home :) A note: Don't cut up the topping mixture too much or it doesn't get that good crumble like a dutch apple pie is supposed to have. With the first pie I mixed the topping too much and that's what happened - the mixture was too smooth and baked into a smooth top. The second one I didn't mix up the mixture as much and the topping was great. Also, I added caramel ice cream topping sauce, drizzled over the apples before putting on the topping - AMAZING. I'm not sure if it was the caramels fault, but the filling was a little bit more runny than I'd like, so next time I may add more flour to thicken it up. Also, the apples were a little more crunchy than I'd like, so I would also recommend baking for just a little longer. I didn't have any parchment paper so I skipped it and they still came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This was the best tasting apple pie that I have made. I did subsitute McIntosh apples. It was a hit at my husbands birthday party and per his request he wanted pie vs cake. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This recipe was quite tastey - I thought it was a tad sweet, and could have used more cinnamon, though. I also think that the topping needs to be doubled, because it just didn't seem like enough. I hate to admit that I'm not sure what kind of apples I used (my husband bought a TON because they were on sale for something like 25 cents a pound) so that may have contributed to the sweetness (over Granny Smith). The crust I made was also too thick (not the fault of this recipe) so I can't wait to try this again soon, with the GS apples, a store bought crust, and double the topping. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The recipe amount ended up making two pies instead of one. Also, we had to take it out of the oven before the time was up because the peaks were starting to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Over all I thought this pie was good, but the only problem that I did have was if you don't us the paper that it suggest then the edges of the pie burn. I also only cooked mine for 50 mins. Another idea would be to cook the pie about half way and then put tinfoil around the edges to help them not burn. Other than that this pie was d-lish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This pie was absolutely delicious! One thing I found wrong with the instructions however- 1 hour is a bit too long. I put it down to 50 minutes because if I cooked it any longer it would burn. Also I left out the lemon juice. I could not imagine that in a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States