Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
So, me and my boyfriend had never baked a pie ever before. This is the first one we tried, andnow itll be the only one we use. We did modify it though, simply because we accidentally left some things out. We did NOT use the lemon juice. Which would be why ours wasn't tart. Also we used Fuji apples instead. They taste better. Another thing is that we used A basic flaky pie crust recipe, also found on this site. Also we baked in a glass pan covered with tin foil for 45 min. then uncovered for 15. Came out nicely golden and cooked crisp on edges. For the topping we rolled out the mix into a second pie like crust and sealed the pie completely, Cutting slits in the top to make it look like an authentic home made pie. Ill add pictures as soon as our 4th batch is done. They have all come out sweet. and weren't soggy the next day as others have complained. Although....everyone know leftovers don't keep as well as the original. Maybe its how you're storing it in your fridge. As to the smarty pant that caught their kitchen on fire with a paper bag...there is a difference between a paper bag and baking parchment paper. I'd never made a pie before and even I knew that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessa86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
great pie recipe, thanks alot the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Excellent recipe, I just made the best apple pies I have ever tasted. My children love them. I made a few adjustments to my taste. Instead of using 2 tbs, I used half a lemon. It was too lemony with 2 tbs. For the topping mixture, I added some milk to soften the consistency in order to pour on top. It comes out great because the topping fills in all the nukes and crannies between the apple filling and you get a very nice crisp topping as well as crisp filling. I was able to make two apples pies with this one recipe. I split it 50/50. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I agree with lawavediva who said this is way too tart. I have been baking for almost 50 years and know most people like a sweet apple pie. I would also use brown sugar for the topping. There are better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I've made a pie like this for years and it always gets rave reviews. I use 1/2 cup brown sugar in the topping instead of white sugar and just bake in the oven without any parchment paper until the topping is brown and slightly crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This pie was good the first day, but the second day it was really mushy. Also, the apples were more tart than other pies I have made. It was good, but I would recommend making it for an occasion when it will all get eaten at once, not just for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was my first time making apple pie. I followed the recipe except I used a frozen pie crust. 5 apples did not fit in the deep dish crust- I had some left over. Also, while mine came out good, it did not look like the photo (the butter/flour/sugar mixture seemed to melt into the pie rather than staying on top). It is a tarter type apple pie, but both my husband and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I honestly don't think I will ever even LOOK at another apple pie recipe again! This was fabulous. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I doubled the top-crust and added some caramel pieces and it was great!! I also used Honeycomb apples instead, I think they make a better pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I bought a gluten free frozen pie crust and used a gluten free flour mix to make the topping (our house has special diet needs) and to my surprise and delight this still tasted fantastic!! My boyfriend was so excited and our guests couldn't even tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States