Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 times now and have had nothing but outstanding raves. I only used to make double crusted apple pies and will honestly never make another one after serving and eating this recipe! My family and friends agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Pieper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The cook time and temperature for this pie need to be significantly decreased! I baked my pie on 350 for 45 minutes and my apples were nice and crisp, not mushy. I did not used parchment paper and instead covered it in foil half way through the cook time. As for those of you that are complaining the topping is gooey and globby; used cold butter! The recipe does not indicate this but I promise you it will turn out better and be more crumbly when you put it on the pie and not a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
the instructions arent very detailed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magicmaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Outstanding! I did make one change. Hubby said his grandma made apple pies with Granny Smith apples, and they were always too tart for him. I took a tip from a cooking video and used 5 different types of apples to mix flavors and textures. I used one each of the following: Gala, Golden Delicious, Fuji, Jonathan, and Honeycrisp. Hubby said this was the best apple pie he's ever had in his life - and we live down the road from the famous Julian apple pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This recipe taste good, baked at a 400 oven it was still too hot of a oven next time 375 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I don't bake, but this recipe is awesome! I didn't use parchment paper (because I don't bake and don't stock it)! I also used thick sliced red delicious apples (because that's what I had on hand) I used brown sugar in the topping mixture, and reduced the cooking time down to about 40 mins, even the neighbors loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is a very easy and delicious recipe! I pre-mixed the apples with the sugar, etc and let it sit for a bit before putting in the pie shell. I was very impressed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Wonderful, I am really bad in the kitchen, but this recipe it is so easy and nice, that It makes me look like an expert. I've been making this for Xmas the last 3 years and it is always a success. I make the crust from the Ruth's grandma's pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was fabulous. I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out to be so delicious. I would add another apple next time I make it and I lowered the oven to 420 degrees because that's the max for parchment paper in the oven. Thanks to whomever shared this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
The pastry is filled uncooked. The butter infuses it and makes the best part of the pie. I think I will use a stapler next time for the parchment bag. We ate this tart appel pie last night. A small piece from the refridgerator this morning was even better! Now we have half a buttery tart appel pie in the fridge. What to do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States