Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
My family requests this pie on numerous occasions...the most recent being a pregnancy craving of my daughter. I use A full 3 pounds of Granny Smith apples. I put the prepared and sliced apples along with 3 Tbsp butter in a sauté pan and cook while stirring well for about 7 min. Just until they start to soften up. I then combine in a separate bowl the 2/3 C white sugar w 1/3 C brown sugar, 4 Tbsp white flour, 1 and 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 3/8 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp allspice. Stir together well. Dump this combination over the apples in the sauté pan with the heat off. Stir well, and let sit like this while you brush prepared pie crust with beaten egg whites and bake for 5 min in a 400 degree oven. When it comes out of the oven, I raise the oven temp to 425, fill the crust with the apple mixture, then place a foil shield around the crust edges to protect from over browning. Let it bake for 10 min at 425 degrees while I prepare the Streusel topping with the following: 3/4 cup flour, 3/4 cup instant oatmeal, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 cup packed brown sugar. Mix together well. Add 1/2 cup slightly softened butter. Cut in well, then I use my hands to get it mixed together well to the large crumble state. I just don't seem to be able to achieve this delicious state of large crumbles with any utensil. Remove the pie from the oven. Leaving the foil shield on the edges in place, I add the crumble topping to the pie, and lower the temp to 365 degrees for my glass plate pie, retu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great recipe. Made a fabulous pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Very good tasty pie!! I did leave in an extra 10 minutes as one reviewer suggested & would NOT do that again. The topping got a little crunchy. Not holding that against the recipe though, that was my own fault. Good easy pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
THIS ONE'S A KEEPER IN OUR HOUSE..... I PUT EGG WHITE BRUSHED ON TOP OF CRUST BEFORE BAKING AS THIS WILL HELP KEEP THE CRUST FROM GETTING SOGGY. ADDED 3TBSP OF FLOUR FOR FILLING SLICE APPLES NICE AND THIN. PUT ON BOTTOM RACK FOR 20@ 425 THEN AFTER 20MIN REMOVED FROM OVEN PUT THE FILLING IN WHICH I ADDED CHOPPED PEACONS AND ALITTLE MORE BUTTER PLACE IT TO THE MIDDLE OF THE RACK IN OVEN AND FINISHED BAKING AT 350 FOR 30 MIN WOW WHAT A AWESOME APPLE PIE THANKS FOR SHARING HAVE TOLD EVERYBODY WHERE THEY CAN FIND THIS RECIPE I WENT BACK LOOKED AT THE REVIEWS AND 4 OF MY FRIENDS HAVE IT.... THANKS AGAIN!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
BEST TIP EVER: Freeze your butter solid, then shred it with a food processor. Makes it so much easier to work it into your recipe! I doubled the flour, added 1/4 tsp salt to the filling, and 1/2 tsp salt to the topping, and I used 6 cups of apples. The apples were just done enough. This may have been the best pie I've ever made. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is a good pie. I've used all types of apples with success, and like many others, found myself increasing the flour to no more than 1/4 cup to combat the sogginess - though to be honest, scooping out the apples into the pie crust and leaving the juice at the bottom is the smart thing to do for any pie using fresh fruit that's not being cooked on the stove first to create a thickened filling. I've made the pie with a frozen crust, but prefer the standard brushing with egg white and allowing to dry or baking for 10 minutes then cooling prior to filling. I used McCormick apple pie spice - my normal go-to - rather than the separate spices listed. The only thing I did NOT like was that the amount of sugar in both the pie filling and the topping is excessive. In my opinion, it could be cut to 1/2 c in the filling and 1/4 c in the topping. Good recipe, though and I appreciate your posting it. I will bake this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is soooo goood! I did make a few modifications based on how I traditionally make apple pie. I added a few sliced fresh pears in with the apples to add a little sweet to the tart. I didn't have any lemon zest, so I used dried orange peel. I couldn't taste the difference. I doubled the crumble recipe (since one of the reviewers raved about it, but turns out I really didn't need to... I have enough for a second pie, which I plan on making later this week. Also, my streusal crumbles were a little dry, so I did brush the crumbles with melted butter, whiched helped make the crust golden perfection. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I was short in oatmeal so I used half Oatmeal/corn flake cereal and it turn out pretty good. everyone love it at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina4man

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is fantastic!!! The only thing I did was take 2 T of the sugar and allowed the apples to sit and drain while I made the crust. This made it so the crust wasn't soggy. The pie was a big hit for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trissie21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I've never tried Dutch Apple Pie. I always made traditional apple pie. My husband requested it so I found this recipe and tried it as is. Delicious! I made it for our "Pre-Thanksgiving" with family and friends. It was gone in no time! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States