Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I hate cinnamon but I love apple pie, only the british kind without gobs of cinnamon. My husband likes cinnamon and apple pie though so I searched for an answer and this pie was it. I followed the ingredients exactly and it has the perfect amount and combination of spices to be very tasty but not overwhelmingly cinnamon dominated or filled with dark brown goo. This pie is perfect. The only thing I would do is bake the crust for 5-10 min empty with the edges covered and then follow the recipe as it instructs. Great pie; it is the only one I make when I make apple pie now. It's always a big hit. Oh, I also cut my apples into chunks per my husband's request, but I do prefer them sliced like the recipe calls for. And I use Gala apples which come out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bojarski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Tastes wonderful, if not a bit too sweet for my taste, but is definitely watery(even though I added a bit of extra flour to the apple mixture.) I'd definitely recommend adding something to thicken it up to make this a perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Wow, this is the best apple pie recipe! I read suggestions on here and added the tbsp of tapioca which was definitely needed. I used Granny Smith apples and it was a hit at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Gave up on soggy crusts by using 9X12 cake pan, (no crust). Tripled pie ingredients, doubled streusel, added 10 minutes cooking time. Added 2 tbsp. corn starch. Problems solved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Hoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I've been making this style for some time. Its best way for me : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Schnitker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Wonderful pie. I doubled cinnamon & omitted the lemon zest. I love lemon but not in apple pie...a personal preference. I did cook pie a tad longer but every oven is different. I suspect if a pie is too watery, maybe putting the sugar on apples & let them sit before baking causes the apples to weep & sugar dissolve. I did put the crumbled topping on pie from the beginning. I just covered crust edges for 35 minute, uncovered & baked 35 more minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Great pie that my family loved. I followed the recipe just as written and pie was wonderful! We had three pies for the holidays and this one was the first one gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I really wanted to love this pie....but didn't. I agree with others about the apples being too firm and the pie being runny. The topping just wasn't right either. If I were to bake this pie again, I would put more flour in the apple mix, leave the oatmeal out and bake it twice as long. But wait, I'd just rather stick with my tried and true double crust from the Betty Crocker cookbook. Christmas dessert was a runny, undercooked disaster. Didn't have time to read the comments, just trusted the 4 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suki's mommy
Living In: Thornton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Excellent! I made this pie with the exact ingredients in the recipe. I used Granny Smith apples. I took the suggestion from another review and drained the apple filling before putting it into the pie shell. The pie turned out moist but not soggy with lots of flavour. If I hadn't drained the apples I think the pie would have been soggy. Loved the topping but I think I would prefer a bit less of it. Also, I baked the pie for an additional 10 to 15 min, but that maybe just be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This pie is so delicious, I hesitate to make a "regular" apple pie again. If I could, I would give it 10 stars. This recipe is similar to one I had 40 years ago and lost. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States