Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This is an excellent recipe. A couple little hints may help those that are having problems. I didn't freeze my pie crust. I lightly brushed the crust with a beaten egg white, let it dry (while I was peeling apples) then put it in the oven at 400 degrees for 5 minutes. Also, adding a heaping TLB of INSTANT TAPIOCA to the apples when you toss them will thicken any excess juice without adding additional flour. It won't change the taste. I do this to all my fruit pies whether the recipe calls for it or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
486 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Wow, wow, WOW! Fantastic pie! I'm extremely fussy about apple pie and this is the best one I've ever made in thirty years! I did tweak the recipe slightly, taking into consideration all of the previous comments. Here's what I did: 1. Used a good homemade all butter crust and a glass pie plate 2. Used half Fuji and half Granny Smith apples, totalling 3 pounds (a little more than five cups) 3. Increased the flour to a rounded quarter cup 4. Omitted the lemon zest (don't like lemon and apple together) and the allspice (didn't have any) and substitued quick oats for rolled ones. I also discovered that you can do the initial baking of the apples and crust ahead of time. I had to leave, so I just took it out of the oven, lightly covered with foil and when I returned 3 hours later to finish baking it, it worked out great. With the full three pounds of apples I used, and all that streusel topping, it looks HUGE before it bakes but it comes out the perfect size. With a glass pie plate I dropped the oven temp to 360 degrees and I ended up baking it much longer (at least ten or fifteen minutes longer) until I could view the browned crust on the bottom (easy with a glass pan) This is crucial because otherwise you get a soggy crust on the bottom. We ate the pie after it had totally cooled and the slices held together perfectly. Delicious! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I only bake pies once or twice a year, but I like to make many of the same kind at once. Having said that, I found a few things with my second batch of pies that I would like to share. The crust does indeed go soggy and tends not to bake at the bottom, so for the second batch of 3 pies, I first brushed the frozen pie shells with lightly beaten egg whites before filling (it acts as a barrier and prevents the sogginess) and I also baked the pies at the lowest rack setting of my oven for 20 minutes at 425 degrees. Once I lowered the oven temperature to 375 degrees, I placed the pies back on the middle rack. I also used three LEVEL tablespoons of flour in the filling...I found the three heaping tablespoons recommended by other reviewers to be too pasty and two tablespoons to be too runny. I didn't have any problems with the apples not cooking through, but I sliced them very thinly because the lower sugar/water content in granny smiths tends to make them hold their shape and stay firm otherwise. It is a very good recipe and definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
This kicked a$$!!! to get rid of some of the moisture, mix apple mixture first and drain before putting into shell. This was the best topping ever! I had to patch up parts of the pie where I ate the top off while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This is an excellent Dutch Apple Pie recipe that will make your Grandma proud! Very east to make. I made a few minor changes: I didn't freeze the pie shell - couldn't see the advantage. And I didn't have allspice, so I found on a website a perfect substitute: 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves and 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg, mixed together. This will make more than the 1/4 teaspoon called for, so I just saved the extra, put it in a little jar and labeled it "allspice" for my next recipe that calls for it. This pie is scrumptious - especially with a little scoop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTTISH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made this recipe as is except for the lemon zest. It is very tasty! I had no problem with the crust and I did use the egg white trick. The resulting pie is super tasty, although I think it could use a little more cinnamon! Served with vanilla ice cream to guests and was told that I was "missing my calling" that I need to start a restaurant right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
OMGosh!!! This was fabulous. I am not big on apples, but I LOVE pie; but have never made a good apple pie until now! My husband, who is an apple pie connoisseur also LOVED this. I made this pie to serve tonight for our second night of Sukkot (The biblical Feast of Booths/Tabernacles). Many of our neighbors came to fellowship with us and EVERYONE raved about this pie. There was none left. THe plate was licked clean!!! This one goes in the recipe box and will be used often. The only alteration I made was to omit the lemon zest, just did not sound good to me. Anyway, this is a must try!!! We love it. Thank you and God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
My family loved this recipe! I made two of these (and one pumpkin pie) for 9 people and these two DISAPPEARED before I could blink. Sorry, pumpkin! I used Jonagold in one, Granny Smith in the other. I used some of the suggestions in the reviews (no lemon zest, 3 T. flour). I find Granny Smiths will stay too firm for my family's liking at only 40 min. baking, so for that pie I cooked the apple mixture for about 5 min. in a saute pan with 1 T. unsalted butter. Softened them just slightly enough to come out perfect after baking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Baked this for our Christmas dinner this year and my father-in-law declared that from now on, we'd have Apple Pie for dessert at every family get-together. That speaks wonders for a man who rarely touch his sweets. Tweaked the recipe slightly: (1) Made the crust from scratch using the 1 1/2 x of the butter pie crust from this website; (2) Baked the crust in the top shelf for 5 minutes (at 220C) before adding the apples; (3) Used 6 sliced apples (2 huge fuji's and 4 granny smiths)and still found I'd need more apples - will add use 8 in all the next time. (4) Added cranberries to give a great twang to the tart filling. (5) Used demanera sugar (unrefined) and have reduced the sugar for the filling to 1/2 cup; and 1/2 cup (unpacked) for the streusel. (6) Added finely chopped cashews (the only unsalted nuts I had with me) in the streusel and this added to the cruch and flavour beautifully! Will use walnuts next time. (7) I did bake the streusel for about 50 minutes. Afterwhich I'd removed the foil and let the top brown nicely. I've used a glass bottomed pie dish as suggested by an earlier reviewer (so that I can tell if the crust is soaked through. With the amount of apples used, they appeared "too much" and over-flowing initially; but after 10 minutes of baking, they've settled down well. Will use a deeper pie dish next time. Served the warmed pie slices with my favourite ice-cream but would probably do better with just vanilla instead coz that was a tad too sweet for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Very yummy pie! I used a deep dish pie pan, so I used about 6 c apples (and would probably use even more next time) with the same amount of sugar mixture and it was awesome. I also added some cut up caramels to the filling. Mmmmm. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States