Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I made this pie for my husband before heading out of town. I partially cooked it and left him instructions to preheat the oven and put it in for another 15 minutes- cause nothing beats homemade apple pie with vanilla icecream! All I heard was "OMG, SO GOOD!" via text and he managed NOT to eat the whole thing in one sitting (I only made a 4") Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4fit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Loved it! I only used 3 large Granny Smith apple. Made per directions. Very good, didn't last the night. Thank you for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nativeSDgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was really good. I used both white and brown sugar in the apple mixture and omitted the butter (my filling was NOT runny). I omitted the oats for the topping and just used flour, sugar, brown sugar and butter. I put the topping on the pie and baked uncovered all at the same time for 50 minutes at 375. Just a tip, put pie on a cookie sheet to catch any overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The topping is amazing, I would absolutely use it again. The filling isn't great because like so many other reviewers said, it's very runny. I doubled the amount of flour (so a total of 4 TB flour) and I added 2 TB of cornstarch to guarantee a thick syrupy filling. That didn't happen ... After a few pieces were cut, the liquid started leaking out so there was a layer of apple-cinnamon liquid on the bottom of the pan. It didn't affect the taste too much, but it wasn't pretty to look at. I would use the same topping for a different filling recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Picture perfect - tasted even better. I did not let this go home with the relatives after Thanksgiving Dinner because I wanted to selfishly keep it for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This pie is amazing. I have been making it for years and the only thing I change is that I add a full teaspoon of cinnamon in the apple mixture. This pie even won me $100 in a bake off :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBegins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This pie is so sugary sweet it kind of makes your teeth hurt and its so runny, you may think you've made a soup rather than a pie. I notice that almost every person who's rated this pie has altered the original recipe somehow. They seem to have the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
A very good apple pie... the spices were no too over powering and it reminded my dad was an apple crisp... that is pretty much what a good dutch apple pie is an apple crisp in a pie shell... cooking time for me was about 20 minutes longer than suggested... in that last 20 minutes I removed the foil over the top... good tasting pie... I am not sure if freezing the crust is necessary though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My Father in law gave me the best compliment on thas pie he said "this is the best apple pie I have ever had"! He is 70 yrs old! The only spice I used was cinnamon and it got gobbled up! My husband was so sad that he had no leftovers. Will be making this regularly for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Filling would be MUCH better with just a small dash of nutmeg and allspice and adding more cinnamon. Found this pie to be kind of overwhelming with too much of a spice flavor. Although I wasnt crazy about the pie, my husband said it was pretty good. My suggestion is to use the spices in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States