Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Filling would be MUCH better with just a small dash of nutmeg and allspice and adding more cinnamon. Found this pie to be kind of overwhelming with too much of a spice flavor. Although I wasnt crazy about the pie, my husband said it was pretty good. My suggestion is to use the spices in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
As always with pie recipes, I made this in oven-safe ramekins without a bottom crust. Needs less baking time. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This pie was soooo Yummy!! It was a little runny and the crust was soggy but the flavor AMAZING!!! Next time I will add more flour to the apples and brush the pie shell with egg before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Tastes great using fresh peaches instead of apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
the spicing and flavor of the filling and the crumble top is perfect (i used 1/3 cup of Splenda in the filling and 1/2 cup Splenda Brown in the crumble and omitted the rest of the sugar), but i don't see the purpose of the crust; i'll stick to making apple crisp. Still, if you're looking specifically for a pie, this one's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I made this pie yesterday--it turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have allspice and I didn't add lemon zest. Didn't miss either ingredient because the pie turned out great. I made a homemade pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
It would have been much better without the allspice and nutmeg and with more cinnamon. I baked it 35 minutes after adding the topping, and the crust and topping were nicely browned, but the apples were very undercooked. The apples should have cooked longer during the first baking. This pie wasn't very appetizing. Waste of ingredients. UPDATE: I increased my rating from 2 stars to 3, because after I refrigerated it overnight, and the pie did taste a little better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I made this as written and it was pretty good; just not great. I had to cook it twice as long as the recipe called for in order to get the apples soft enough to eat. The topping seemed a little mushy, not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Yummy! Followed recipe exactly and came out great. I sliced apples very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellenhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is my go-to pie for any occasion! My boyfriends' Dad requests this pie for his birthday (or any other holiday!) The only change I make is to bake the crust and apples for an extra 10 minutes (so 20 total) before adding the topping, and I don't add the lemon zest, but that's just personal preference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KillerPeaches

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ava, New York, USA
Living In: Sauquoit, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States