Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I'm not a fan of apple pie, but my parents love it so I thought I'd give it a whirl for Christmas. It was good. I used a pre-made, deep dish frozen pie crust. It was a little soggy and I did prebake it, so next time I think I'll try brushing it with egg white. I used 6 small Jonathan apples, which was a bit more than 5 cups. I also used 3 level tablespoons of flour in the pie mix, and quick oats and liked the results just fine. I probably made and used a bit too much of the streusel topping because I knew I'd love it. Next time I will try another reviewer's idea and cut up some caramels to made it even yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Sorry but I did not like this. I gave it 2 stars because hubby said it wasn't bad but for the topping absolutely killed it. I should have realized when I saw the oatmeal ingredient that it would not be the nice crumb topping that I wanted. I would still encourage others to try it because the filling part tasted good and if you like the oatmeal topping you may like this as well. I will find a similar one with the crumb topping I prefer. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I made this pie for my husband before heading out of town. I partially cooked it and left him instructions to preheat the oven and put it in for another 15 minutes- cause nothing beats homemade apple pie with vanilla icecream! All I heard was "OMG, SO GOOD!" via text and he managed NOT to eat the whole thing in one sitting (I only made a 4") Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4fit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Loved it! I only used 3 large Granny Smith apple. Made per directions. Very good, didn't last the night. Thank you for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nativeSDgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was really good. I used both white and brown sugar in the apple mixture and omitted the butter (my filling was NOT runny). I omitted the oats for the topping and just used flour, sugar, brown sugar and butter. I put the topping on the pie and baked uncovered all at the same time for 50 minutes at 375. Just a tip, put pie on a cookie sheet to catch any overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The topping is amazing, I would absolutely use it again. The filling isn't great because like so many other reviewers said, it's very runny. I doubled the amount of flour (so a total of 4 TB flour) and I added 2 TB of cornstarch to guarantee a thick syrupy filling. That didn't happen ... After a few pieces were cut, the liquid started leaking out so there was a layer of apple-cinnamon liquid on the bottom of the pan. It didn't affect the taste too much, but it wasn't pretty to look at. I would use the same topping for a different filling recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Picture perfect - tasted even better. I did not let this go home with the relatives after Thanksgiving Dinner because I wanted to selfishly keep it for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This pie is amazing. I have been making it for years and the only thing I change is that I add a full teaspoon of cinnamon in the apple mixture. This pie even won me $100 in a bake off :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBegins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This pie is so sugary sweet it kind of makes your teeth hurt and its so runny, you may think you've made a soup rather than a pie. I notice that almost every person who's rated this pie has altered the original recipe somehow. They seem to have the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
A very good apple pie... the spices were no too over powering and it reminded my dad was an apple crisp... that is pretty much what a good dutch apple pie is an apple crisp in a pie shell... cooking time for me was about 20 minutes longer than suggested... in that last 20 minutes I removed the foil over the top... good tasting pie... I am not sure if freezing the crust is necessary though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States