Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very good, solid recipe. Family liked a lot, even my husband who doesn't like desserts very much. I used Granny Smith apples and the pie was neither too sweet or runny. Also, the pie sat for about an hour before we cut into it, which helps the pie firm up and not be runny. I didn't freeze my crust. I used it straight from the fridge and the crust was fine, both around the edges and in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
wow, yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SassYgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
A good apple pie. A little sweet for my taste, especially the topping, so would cut back the sugar in the future. Not sure if I liked the lemon zest in the topping, so might leave that out next time to gauge our preference. The pie is gone though, so this recipe is still a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
A delicious and flavorful pie. I baked the crust on 350 for ten minutes to keep it from getting soggy. The streusel topping helps it stand out from your average apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
this is a good recipe. i used my own homemade butter crust and didnt have the other spices, so only used cinnamon, and i used gala apples. the crumb topping i expected to be a little more crunchy so i was disappointed in that. but i followed the directions on making the topping, so dont know why it wasnt. but overall, a good pie. made another one and cooked it 40 mins cuz i made my own crust and it seemed to turn out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is amazing! It turned out perfectly and paired beautifully with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjstalder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This may well be the most delicious apple pie recipe I've ever made. Both the filling and the streusel topping were very tasty and, in my opinion, a cut above all the rest. I used a combination of Granny Smith and Honey Crisp. I brushed the crust with egg white before putting in the filling and my crust was not the least bit soggy. I didn't have time to freeze the crust and don't see how that could have made it any better. Perhaps if you do the egg white thing, it isn't necessary. Thanks, Ginny, for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was easy and tasty. Made this for the family Christmas dinner. Everyone loved it. I made another one just for hubby and me. Thank you for the good notes. Everyone loved the oatmeal topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susanhigley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I'm not a fan of apple pie, but my parents love it so I thought I'd give it a whirl for Christmas. It was good. I used a pre-made, deep dish frozen pie crust. It was a little soggy and I did prebake it, so next time I think I'll try brushing it with egg white. I used 6 small Jonathan apples, which was a bit more than 5 cups. I also used 3 level tablespoons of flour in the pie mix, and quick oats and liked the results just fine. I probably made and used a bit too much of the streusel topping because I knew I'd love it. Next time I will try another reviewer's idea and cut up some caramels to made it even yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Sorry but I did not like this. I gave it 2 stars because hubby said it wasn't bad but for the topping absolutely killed it. I should have realized when I saw the oatmeal ingredient that it would not be the nice crumb topping that I wanted. I would still encourage others to try it because the filling part tasted good and if you like the oatmeal topping you may like this as well. I will find a similar one with the crumb topping I prefer. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States