Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Very easy, very yummy! Gone at our house in 1 day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
It was our first attempt at pie, and it went over pretty well. We used a store bought crust. The streusel topping wasn't my favorite, so I subbed it out with a streusel I make for coffee cake and that worked wee. A very uncomplicated recipe that tasted good. It probably won't be anyone's favorite, but it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Just made this. Looked over the recipe 3 times to make sure I didn't miss a step in regards to cooking time. I baked the pie an additional 25 minutes with the foil off to allow for crust and topping to brown. Apple's weren't done after 35 min. Taste is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have made dozens of pies but never apple, until now. I tried this after looking at dozens of recipes and I'm so glad I did - it was stupid good. Two things I'd recommend: 1.) put your apples and sugar into a bowl and let this sit for about ten minutes - the sugar will draw out a lot of moisture that you want to discard before putting the filling into the crust. Once you've drained the apples, mix in your spices. 2.) instead of flour, I use 2 tablespoons of tapioca - I always use tapioca in fruit pies, works beautifully every time. This is a really excellent pie, thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
BEST EVER! This is an AMAZING recipe! I once tried freezing the crust & it made things complicated. I suggest just keeping the dough room temp. Otherwise, the crust cooks strangely...I put tin foil loosely over the crust for the first 10-15 mins to prevent burning. I also add walnuts or pecans to the streusel & it gives it an extra oomph, not that this pie needs it! My apples (always granny smith) are always cooked to perfection but we use an apple peeler that cores, peels & cuts the apple thin & into a round apple ring. Therefore, the apple pieces are thin. We cut them in quarters making the apples a perfect bite size. I don't like chunky apples! It tastes very much like a warm caramel apple with an amazingly delicious streusel topping & we add french vanilla ice cream to top. Everyone LOVES this recipe, I get so many kudos. It's a pie TO DIE FOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I usually cheat and but frozen pies, but gave this a shot because it seemed like a good beginner pie. SO GLAD I DID! Turned out wonderful! My grandma was so impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This might just be the best apple pie i have made! i left out the lemon zest and didnt measure the apples. i used 8 granny smith. then followed the rest of the recipes. i had to bake it about 15 minutes longer than stated. i like that there wasnt a bunch of extra ingredients that overpowered the apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammi Spina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
So good! Skipped the lemon zest, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Another way to avoid a soggy bottom crust is to mix together 1 T each of cornstarch & white sugar, then sprinkle it onto the bottom crust before you fill it with the apple's. Work's every time !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States