Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made two of these pies and followed the tip to put a rounded 1/4 cup of flour in the pie and to leave out the lemon zest. Instead of using nutmeg and allspice, I used the same measurements for apple pie spice since that is what I had on hand. I also used butter in the pie and margarine in the streusel topping. The pies turned out wonderful! This recipe has been added to my personal collection with recipes I have gotten from my mom and two grandmothers. You won't regret making a pie following this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I have used this recipe several times and it is foolproof and perfect. Yummy. I will be baking another today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah.Hawk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Heidrick, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Followed recipe exactly, this was a great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This apple pie was amazing! My son requested for his birthday pumpkin or apple pie, so I made the pumpkin and decided to try something new for the apple pie. I have never made a great apple pie..... till now! This was delicious. I did not add the lemon zest (did not have) and next time I will add tapioca (which I did not have today either)as I always add that to help thicken friut pies. Other than that,I followed as the recipes states and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
this turned out great!...sooo love the streusel topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berdet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This pie was pretty good. I used Golden Delicious apples which, I usually love but, I would have preferred a more tart apple with this recipe. I didn't have any problems with a runny filling like I've had in the past with other recipes so, I thought this was great. I did like the oatmeal streusel topping but, I think I just prefer a regular crust. That's just me though. All in all, a good apple pie recipe that I will probably use again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I really like this topping but my husband prefers it without the oats, so to each their own! It always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I should have demonstrated some restraint when pouring the topping onto the apples, but I have a weakness for streusal and wanted to capture every last bit! Since I used it all I had a mound of crumb topping that was too dry atop my apples. Next time I would reduce the amount of oats/sugar a bit and keep the butter measurement as specified. I did not have issues with excess liquid; I leave my pies in tact overnight prior to slicing into them. It gives the juice a chance to soak back into the fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Very easy, very yummy! Gone at our house in 1 day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
It was our first attempt at pie, and it went over pretty well. We used a store bought crust. The streusel topping wasn't my favorite, so I subbed it out with a streusel I make for coffee cake and that worked wee. A very uncomplicated recipe that tasted good. It probably won't be anyone's favorite, but it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States