Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I have made a lot of recipes for apple pie and this is the best I have ever made. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was my first apple pie and it turned out AMAZING. I used a different, all butter recipe for the crust, but baked everything the same. TIP FOR CUTTING THE JUICE : toss sliced apples in 1/2 of the sugar (1/3 cup for this recipe) and place in a mesh colander over a bowl for a good hour, or longer (I did this while my crust sat in the fridge). You'll find a nice 1/4-1/2 cup of juice in the bowl when you are ready to use the apples. You can put this in a pan and cook down to a sticky syrup to add back into your pie filling or just toss it, but this step will keep your pie from being runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Like some other reviewers, my pie came out very soggy (there was actually a pool of liquid in the bottom of the pie pan) not sure if I had abnormally juicy apples or what happened. The flavor was great and we loved the crumble topping. Would consider making this again but would need to experiment with how to improve the consistency and thickness of the apple portion of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was my first successful attempt (seriously) at apple pie and it received rave reviews from my co-workers. I am usually not very successful with fresh fruit pies so I stick to custard pies most of the time. I followed the recipe exactly except a uded 3 tablespoons of flour in the filling mixture as recommended by others. I will make this again....and use homemade crust next time. That should really make my husband dance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Good recipe. I omitted the lemon zest and baked for 20-25 minutes longer, removing the foil for the last 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time today and it was a big hit. I did not use a frozen pie shell though. I made a cinnamon sugar pie shell and baked it a little first and then added the filling, baked the 10 suggested minutes, added the topping and finished baking. My husband who is not a fan of apple pie said he would so eat apple pie now thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Very good as is. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Lord this is SO good! I have to admit I was skeptical while I was making it. I have never used nutmeg or allspice in pies before, but I decided to follow the directions. Now here it comes: 3 things I did differently - I didn't use the lemon zest, and I used more apples than the recipe called for, and I used at least 2 tablespoons of cinnamon. Other than that I followed it as written. I did have to bake it longer - about an hour on 375 (after the first 10 minutes), and some of the apples still had the slightest hint of a crunch, which isn't a bad thing. I had many apples that needed to be used, so I mixed Grannies, Jonagolds (my favorite baking apple), and Honey Crisps. Oh I'll be making this one over and over again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I followed Barb's suggestions and it turned out perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States