Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Delicious! Great flavorful pie with the following adjustments as per many other reviewers' suggestions: Brushed a pre-made crust with egg white and baked at 425 for 5 mins. Added 3 roughly level tablespoons of flour to apple mix along with the juice of half a lemon, 3 tablespoons of brown sugar, and upped all the spices - I used cinnamon and cloves. I used a mix of Granny Smith and Golden Delicious apples. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDNGRL322

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The best apple pie I've ever had! I followed the recipe almost exactly, with only a couple slight changes. As another person suggested, I applied egg whites to the crust and baked it for 10 minutes while I prepped the other ingredients, and that did the trick to keep the crust crusty even after the pie sat overnight. I also like to cut my apple into cubes rather than slices to keep a little bit of the apple texture after baking. And I may try this recipe again with brown sugar instead of white, because that's usually my preference in an apple pie. But this is now my go-to pie recipe. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Everyone LOVED this pie! I don't really like pie all that much and I even LOVED it! I added salt to my streusel because I only use unsalted butter and it was great! I also put my apple in lemon water to make sure they don't brown then drained the water and put the sugar and spices in there and I also added some of the liquid to the pie which cooked out and it turned out really moist! SO delish! For my apples I used Granny Smith and fuji apples mixed up! gave it a sour sweet flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Bowman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Makes too muh streusel topping (and I truly can't believe I'm saying this). The topping was very thick & flour-y. I would cut the amount of flour in the topping WAY down. THEN this pie would get 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This pie was exactly what I was looking for! Extra flavorful with the mixed varieties of apples and all the spices and the streusel just tops it all off! Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
One of the best I`ve made, everyone loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robert22
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe so many times . It is the best apple pie I have ever had. The only thing I would say is make sure you mix the apple filling and drain off the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shara
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Just made this and was a hit! I added 1/2 cup chopped pecans to topping too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love this recipe! It works really well with the No Roll Pie Crust 1 and it's simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States