Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
the spicing and flavor of the filling and the crumble top is perfect (i used 1/3 cup of Splenda in the filling and 1/2 cup Splenda Brown in the crumble and omitted the rest of the sugar), but i don't see the purpose of the crust; i'll stick to making apple crisp. Still, if you're looking specifically for a pie, this one's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I made this pie yesterday--it turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have allspice and I didn't add lemon zest. Didn't miss either ingredient because the pie turned out great. I made a homemade pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
It would have been much better without the allspice and nutmeg and with more cinnamon. I baked it 35 minutes after adding the topping, and the crust and topping were nicely browned, but the apples were very undercooked. The apples should have cooked longer during the first baking. This pie wasn't very appetizing. Waste of ingredients. UPDATE: I increased my rating from 2 stars to 3, because after I refrigerated it overnight, and the pie did taste a little better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I made this as written and it was pretty good; just not great. I had to cook it twice as long as the recipe called for in order to get the apples soft enough to eat. The topping seemed a little mushy, not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Yummy! Followed recipe exactly and came out great. I sliced apples very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellenhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is my go-to pie for any occasion! My boyfriends' Dad requests this pie for his birthday (or any other holiday!) The only change I make is to bake the crust and apples for an extra 10 minutes (so 20 total) before adding the topping, and I don't add the lemon zest, but that's just personal preference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KillerPeaches

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ava, New York, USA
Living In: Sauquoit, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I omitted the pie shell, added some oats to the apples, and added crystalized ginger to the streusel to make an apple crisp type dessert. It didn't last long, people loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Followed the recipe except for egg whites instead of freezing the dough. Turned out perfectly! Quite possibly the best pie I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Fantastic apple pie! I made this for my Dutch In-laws and got the approval! yum, my mother in-law told me she was keeping the left overs........no questions asked;) I had my apples sit in the sugar mixture while I was preparing my crust. By the time I was ready to fill, there was a bit of liquid at the bottom of the apples. So I drained it a bit - but not a whole lot. Also - there is A LOT of streusel, I could probably cut it in half next time. This turned out great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States