Dutch Apple Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This dessert is so easy and it's extremely tasty. My family devoured the entire dish in just one sitting (and their are only four of us!) I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
If I could rate this recipe minus stars I would. The baking mix is too salty for this recipe when combined with the butter, and there is a metallic taste from the baking powder in the mix. My teenage boys, who will usually eat anything, wouldn't touch it after one bite. This is just awful when made as directed in the instructions. I wish I had my ingredients back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was a pretty quick & easy recipe, except for peeling the apples. I brought this to a friend's house and it was a hit. I thought perhaps there was a little too much butter in it. My suggestion to the people who thought it was too salty is to use unsalted butter. It's worth another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I used fat-free sweetened condensed milk as well as low-fat bisquick mix with Fuji apples. Everybody loved it. I did make in a 9x13 pan - but I think next time I will use a smaller pan. And there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I've had this recipe for years and if you like apple pie or cobblers, this one is a keeper!! Wonderful for the fall season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Please ignore my previous review, wrong recipe. I've tried this Dutch Apple Dessert is definitely 5 stars also...it turned out very tasty and the whole family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This dish is wonderful! If you like cobbler dishes, you'll love this! It's similar but better! Quick-n-easy too! We had some relatives over the first time I fixed it and everyone, including my picky girls, LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This came out okay--not great. While it was warm, I served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and the starving bachelor I fed it to was very appreciative. Once it cooled though, it was yucky when reheated...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Oh my goodness. I have been waiting to try this recipe for some time now, but never had time. My husband swears this is one of the BEST desserts he has ever had. Absolutly amazing. I hate when people put that they loved the recipe but here's what I changed......and in the end its not even the same recipe. I omitted the nuts. Thats it. Made it exactly like the recipe stated, a dollop of ice cream on top....oh my GOD to die for! seriously! I will say mine looked NTOHING like the photo but hey, tasted out of this world. Think cross between apple pie and apple crisp, but somehow better. !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Altho this tastes good, I would serve it sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States