Dutch Apple Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This is a great recipe. I made mine differently. Instead of using biscuit mix, I used Duncan Hines Cinnabon Cinnamon Streusel Muffin/Quick Bread mix. I sprinkled pumpkin pie spice on the apples, and didn't use any cinnamon (in muffin mix). I cut the butter to 5T, and will reduce further next time. The muffin mix came with a cinnamon streusel topping, so I used that (and didn't add any sugar to the dessert). It was delicious, but definitely required longer than one hour and I had to up it to 350. I will make this again, hubby enjoyed, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was a pretty quick & easy recipe, except for peeling the apples. I brought this to a friend's house and it was a hit. I thought perhaps there was a little too much butter in it. My suggestion to the people who thought it was too salty is to use unsalted butter. It's worth another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
The topping on this is delicious!! I agree with the first reviewer, however, that the biscuit mix is a bit too salty for the sweetness of the apples / topping. I will definitely borrow the topping mixture and play around with the recipe for the cake (bread?) part of this. It's a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Altho this tastes good, I would serve it sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
My husband and kids loved this recipe. I also let my sister taste it and she wanted the recipe. my kids are not crazy about nuts so i didn't used any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
We first had our doubts about this recipe but we tried it and it turned out to be good.You should use more spices an serve this a la mode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I've had this recipe for years and if you like apple pie or cobblers, this one is a keeper!! Wonderful for the fall season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Please ignore my previous review, wrong recipe. I've tried this Dutch Apple Dessert is definitely 5 stars also...it turned out very tasty and the whole family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I used fat-free sweetened condensed milk as well as low-fat bisquick mix with Fuji apples. Everybody loved it. I did make in a 9x13 pan - but I think next time I will use a smaller pan. And there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This dish is wonderful! If you like cobbler dishes, you'll love this! It's similar but better! Quick-n-easy too! We had some relatives over the first time I fixed it and everyone, including my picky girls, LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States