Dutch Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Quick, easy and delicious cake! I couldn't wait so we tasted it while still hot from oven. Next time eating with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geraldine Badger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I aet most of this myself it was sooo good. I made it in a 9x13, I didn't ave the smaller size and it came out fine. I would imagine it would be thicker in the smaller an which would have been nicer, but taste just the sme I'm sure. I didn't put the frosting on because it was so good without it. Loved the crunchy top. A friend said it was like an aple coffee cake. I can see that , only it was better than what that brings to mind. I did chop one extra aple and toss it into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This cake was fabulous, easy to make, and not too sweet. I made two changes, substituting shortening for butter and fresh vanilla bean. Delicious, thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Bernard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I chose this cake above the others mainly because it didn't call for oil. I give it 4 stars because I made a few changes, and I just feel that 2 apples aren't enough. I used butter instead of shortening, 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/2 c white sugar, used whole wheat flour, added cinnamon to the batter, and about 3 1/2 c of diced apples that I just incorporated into the batter. Then, I made a struesel (sp?) topping with brown sugar, cold butter, a little ww flour, cinnamon, and walnuts... it came out delicious, with a nice crunch on top. Great for dessert or with coffee! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Unfortunately, the recipe contains a serious mistake. It is not 1 tablespoon of baking powder that should be used -this renders the cake inedible- it should presumably be 1 teaspoon. It would be a very good idea to correct this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Love this recipe! This is a must have in my house once the apples are ready for picking at our nearby orchards here in Wisconsin! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I have been looking for this recipe for awhile after trying a similiar cake a few years ago. I just used 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening but other than that just followed the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made this last night, I didn't have shortening, so I used margarine, used 1/4 c. brown sugar and the rest splenda instead of sugar and almond flavoring because I had no vanilla. I also used splenda on the top with cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. It was really good but the next time I will add applesauce and apple to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This cake is awesome. I have made it twice. I have used a combination of different flours and it comes out light, moist, and delicious. I add soaked raisins and walnuts in mine. I also put a crumble topping on it. DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I thought this cake was really good. It is very moist. I added chopped apples and cinnamon and little bit of cloves to the batter and used brown sugar, instead of white. I also baked it in a bundt pan with thin slices of apples at the bottom of the pan. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States